Super Breaks: Essential Funk, Soul, & Jazz Samples and Breakbeats

Super Breaks: Essential Funk, Soul, & Jazz Samples and Breakbeats

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Like the rest of the Super Breaks series, the first volume is ostensibly built around records that have been sampled by hip-hoppers, but can really be enjoyed by anyone looking for some quality obscure soul funk. The 20 tracks here span the late 1960s to the late 1970s, balanced between little-known tracks by noted artists (Jackie Wilson, Isaac Hayes, the Blackbyrds), mid-level soul artists (Syl Johnson, the Emotions, the Detroit Emeralds, the Soul Children, Fatback Band), and non-hitmakers, with a couple of actual well-known cuts (Joe Simon's "Drowning in the Sea of Love" and Lowell Fulson's "Tramp") to boot. It's the variety and quality that make this and its companion volumes worthy standouts, particularly in a genre that wasn't (as of 2000) over-mined to death. You have sultry female-sung grinders, hot instrumentals, soul-jazz crossovers (Cannonball Adderley's "Walk Tall," Burning Spear's flute-motored "S.O.U.L."), go-go music in the Ramsey Lewis mold (Googie Rene Combo's "Smokey Joe's La La"), even cheesy then-futuristic synth funk (Jean Jacques Perrey's oft-sampled "Eva"). It's not all killer; some of the later-vintage offerings are more in the standard soul-turning-to-disco form. It's one of the better anthologies to start with, though, if you're looking to collect stuff in this style beyond the norm. [This U.K. import is not available for sale in North America.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/24/2007
Label: Beat Goes Public Bgp
UPC: 0029667512619
catalogNumber: 126
Rank: 32383

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Soul Children   Spoken Word

Technical Credits

Lowell Fulson   Composer
Jimmy McCracklin   Composer
Andy Badale   Composer
Jim Morrison   Composer
Ray Manzarek   Composer
John Densmore   Composer
Kevin Toney   Composer
Joe Zawinul   Composer
Johnny Cameron   Composer
Richard Cornwell   Composer
Bill Curtis   Composer
Mose Davis   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Donald Hepburn   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
Richard Landrum   Composer
Queen Esther Marrow   Composer
David Porter   Composer
Orville Saunders   Composer
Jean-Jacques Perrey   Composer
Perry Smith   Composer
Dean Rudland   Liner Notes
Dave Crawford   Composer
Harry Jensen   Composer
Abrim Tilmon   Composer
Jim Rein   Composer
Aaron Thompson   Composer
Jeanne Vikki   Composer
John Zachary   Composer
Camille Yarbrough   Composer
R. Evans   Composer
Joseph Hall   Composer
Stephen Johnson   Composer
Alvin Pazant   Composer
Robby Krieger   Composer
Marie Perreault   Composer

Customer Reviews