Survivor [Original Television Soundtrack]

Survivor [Original Television Soundtrack]


$15.62 $17.99 Save 13% Current price is $15.62, Original price is $17.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


One of the highest-rated TV series of all time, the 2000 program Survivor came out of nowhere and caught on like wildfire. It seemed viewers just couldn't get enough of cutthroat Rich, rude Rudy, conniving Kelly, and sore loser Susan who battled one another to be the lone survivor on a desert island. Audience response to the innovative music heard on the program led to the release of an instrumental soundtrack album, which features the program's original, exotic score by renowned composers Russ Landau and David Vanacore (Landau won a 1985 Grammy for Best New Age album, while Vanacore has scored shows such as Law & Order and VH1's Behind the Music). In keeping with Survivor's stranded-on-a-desert-isle theme, tracks such as "Ancient Voices," "New Frontier," "My Tribe," and "Survivor Yell" have a primal feel to them, with tribal-sounding percussion, wailing vocals, and chants. Several tracks, including "Big Drama," "Tally the Vote," and "Explorer," are simply full to the brim with sweeping, melodramatic orchestration -- one such track, "I Can See It," is reminiscent of Elton John's often grandiose Lion King soundtrack. Despite its rather cheap-sounding drum machines and synthesizer-laden production, this score still evokes images of the island's exotic landscape and the primitive lifestyle of its temporary inhabitants.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/29/2000
Label: Tvt
UPC: 0016581690028
catalogNumber: 6900
Rank: 170762

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rick Braun   Trumpet
Steve Forman   Percussion
Danny Jacob   Guitar
Ross Landau   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Keyboards,Vocals
Elena Sidorenko   Voices
Tamara Smyslova   Voices
Billy Ward   Percussion
Lisbeth Scott   Vocals
Chris Bleth   Flute,Woodwind
Ken Berry   Guitar
Victor Vanacore   Vocals
David Vanacore   Track Performer
Sarah Taylor   Violin,Vocals
Emily Wright   Cello
Chris Tedesco   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Ross Landau   Producer
Mark Evans   Engineer
David Vanacore   Producer

Customer Reviews