The Sweet Cheat Gone

The Sweet Cheat Gone

by Marcel Proust

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Marcel Proust was a French novelist best known for In Search of Lost Time, a seven volume novel published between 1913 and 1927. Proust is considered to be one of the most important authors of the 20th century.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9788827505649
Publisher: anna ruggieri
Publication date: 10/24/2017
Sold by: StreetLib SRL
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 717,591
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Albertine has finally escaped her 'imprisonment' from Marcel's Paris apartment... Not only is Marcel quite unprepared for the effect her flight has on him, but also soon he is devastated by news of an even more irreversible loss.

Date of Birth:

July 10, 1871

Date of Death:

November 18, 1922

Place of Birth:

Auteuil, near Paris, France

Place of Death:

Paris, France

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sweet Cheat Gone 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
P_S_Patrick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this volume Proust's previous actions end with fitting resolution, with the captive of the last volume becoming the fugitive, and leaving him. The tone for a good part of this volume follows on from the previous one, with his jealousy and suspicion eventually bringing to surface some unexpected revelations, which are followed in the latter part of the book by other surprises, from elsewhere. Proust more or less comes to terms with his grief eventually, but fails to return to the quality of happinesses of the first couple of volumes, with the marriages of two of his once intimate friends provoking almost an attitude of indifference from him, showing perhaps his understandable weariness. Hopefully things will turn out better for him in the final volume.