Switchblade Tongues, Butterknife Brains

Switchblade Tongues, Butterknife Brains

by New Bomb TurksNew Bomb Turks


$9.85 $10.99 Save 10% Current price is $9.85, Original price is $10.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Would-be New Bomb Turks completists who've been looking for some stray B-sides and EP tracks that have emerged since the 1995 odds and ends collection Pissing Out the Poison: Singles and Other Swill will be glad to know the fine folks at Gearhead Records have been doing some of their work for them. Switchblade Tongues, Butterknife Brains gathers 16 non-LP New Bomb Turks cuts, ten of which have never been released before and the rest of which appeared on various small-label singles or European EPs. If you're at all familiar with the New Bomb Turks by this time, you know what to expect -- lots of high-power guitar rave-up from Jim Weber, with Eric Davidson making like the world's coolest smarty-pants on vocals and Matt Reber and Sam Brown kicking them in the butt on bass and drums. There are a few surprises here, though -- the sorta-jazz coda on "Bad for Me," a midtempo instrumental called "Sammer'd," and a goodly portion of covers as the Turks pay homage to the Devil Dogs, Joy Division (or more appropriately Warsaw), X (the ones from Australia), Aerosmith, and the Painted Ship, among others. There's plenty of high-quality pedal-to-the-floor punk rock here, and if it isn't the most consistent set the Turks have ever put out, if you're at all hip to their program you'll like it a lot. In short, this one's for fans, and they'll be plenty satisfied.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/2003
Label: Gearhead
UPC: 0698715004620
catalogNumber: 46
Rank: 102643

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New Bomb Turks   Primary Artist
Jim Weber   Guitar,Background Vocals
Eric Davidson   Vocals
Matt Reber   Organ,Guitar,Bass Guitar,Electric Piano,Background Vocals
Peter Linzell   Saxophone
Derek DiCenzo   farfisa organ
Bim Thomas   Drums
Sam Brown   Guitar,Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Joe Allison   Composer
Ian Curtis   Composer
Peter Hook   Composer
Stephen Morris   Composer
Jim Weber   Composer
Eric Davidson   Composer
Matt Reber   Composer
Bernard Sumner   Composer
Mike Rep & The Quotas   Producer
Andy Gortler   Composer
Jerry Wick   Composer
Painted Ship   Composer
Jon Chinn   Producer,Engineer
Ian Rilen   Composer
Ian Krahe   Composer
Stephen Lucas   Composer

Customer Reviews