Synchro System/Aura

Synchro System/Aura

by King Sunny Ade


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18


King Sunny Adé had been making his own music since 1974 with his group the Green Spots before creating his large African Beats group. This band, despite making literally over 100 records in Nigeria, failed to stir much Western interest until Mango Records, a subsidiary of Island, took a chance and issued the breakthrough album Juju Music in 1982. With its seven extended cuts, it introduced King Sunny Adé & His African Beats to the U.S. as well as England and most of the rest of Europe -- save for France, where the band had previously been able to tour. This U.K. two-fer reissue of 1983's Synchro System and Aura (on Cherry Red's T-Bird imprint) is comprised of the other two recordings in the band's Mango catalog (the band was dropped after sales of these two recordings proved disappointing to label bosses who tried to market Adé as "the new Bob Marley"). While not as qualitatively strong as Juju Music, these recordings are not without their merits -- and placing them on a single CD makes for a much more satisfying listening experience. The virtual guitar armies heard on both albums create a still unique sound well into the 21st century. Standout cuts on the first album include "Synchro Feelings," "Synchro System," and "E Wele." Adé is on lead guitar backed by three other guitarists: Bob Ohiri, Segun Hori, and John Akpan, as well as steel guitarist Demola Adepoju, a slew of talking drums, bass, and a backing chorus. Aura includes these three principal guitarists as well as some different personnel, though the band is just as large. This set's highlights include the hypnotic "Ase," the labyrinthine "Gboromiro," and the sprightly "Oremi." For those looking for remastered versions of these seminal albums, this set with its budget price point is well worth seeking out.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/31/2010
Label: T-Bird
UPC: 5013929883468
catalogNumber: 2988346
Rank: 36066

Album Credits

Performance Credits

King Sunny Ade   Primary Artist,Guitar,Bongos,Conga,Keyboards,Vocals
Tony Allen   Drums,Guest Appearance
Fatoke Abiodun   Agogo
Shina Abiodun   Conga,Background Vocals
Ademola Adepoju   Steel Guitar
Jacob Ajakaye   Vocals
Moses Akanbi   Drums
John Akpan   Rhythm Guitar
Rasaki Aladokun   talking drum
Gani Alashe   Shekere
Michael Babalola   Maracas
Jonah Bonsu   Keyboards
Tunde Demiola   Vocals
Kayode Dosumu   Vocals
Niyi Falaye   Vocals
Segun Hori   Guitar,Soloist
Herry Ihejejo   Bass
Jelili Lawal   Bass
Martin Meissonnier   Keyboards
Bob Ohiri   Guitar,Guitar (Tenor)
Alhaji Timmy Olaitan   talking drum
Matthew Olojede   Vocals
Femi Owomoyela   Vocals
Phil Ramocon   Clavinet,Guest Appearance
Stevie Wonder   Harmonica,Soloist,Guest Appearance
Demola Adepoju   Steel Guitar
Santa Mamola   Guitar (Tenor)
Ganiyu Alashe   Shekere
Elser Osei   Guitar,Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

King Sunny Ade   Composer,Producer
Godwin Logie   Engineer
Martin Meissonnier   Producer
Gary Olazabal   Engineer
Bruno Tilley   Art Direction,Cover Design
Malcolm Dome   Liner Notes
Abdloulaye Sumare   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews