Take Another Little Piece of My Heart

Take Another Little Piece of My Heart

by Bettye LaVetteBettye LaVette


$14.59 $14.99 Save 3% Current price is $14.59, Original price is $14.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Hot on the heels of her 2005 comeback recording, I've Got My Own Hell to Raise, Varese Sarabande issues a treasure trove of Bettye LaVette material here. These 13 cuts were recorded in Memphis with producer Lelan Rogers and the Dixie Flyers (starring Jim Dickinson on keyboards, Charlie Freeman on guitar, bassist Tommy McLure, drummer Sammy Jackson, and a horn section) between 1969 and 1970. The set includes all of her singles for Rogers' Silver Fox label, and her burning version of "Piece of My Heart," issued on the SSS label after Silver Fox went under. There are also some unreleased cuts, such as "Hello Sunshine," one of two duets with Hank Ballard. The other one, "Let's Go, Let's Go," has never been available in the U.S. before. Other sides that have been made available to American audiences are "Easier to Say (Than Do)," "I'm in Love," and "We Got to Slip Around." The collection is stellar, the material is pure, gritty soul rooted in deep blues and R&B. LaVette had no gospel training, making her a pure soul singer. This is tough, rootsy material given an immediate, live-sounding treatment. The grooves are deep and wide -- just check "My Train's Comin' In," or "Nearer to You," written by Allen Toussaint. This compilation is simply wonderful. There isn't a weak cut in the bunch, and it leaves the listener wondering how it came to pass that LaVette didn't become a superstar.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/10/2006
Label: Varese Fontana
UPC: 0030206670820
catalogNumber: 066708
Rank: 91542

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bettye LaVette   Primary Artist,Vocals
Hank Ballard   Vocals

Technical Credits

Hank Ballard   Composer
Joe South   Composer
Don Hill   Composer
B.B. Cunningham   Engineer
Wayne Jackson   Composer
Andrew Love   Composer
Cary E. Mansfield   Producer,Audio Production
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Lelan Rogers   Producer
Richard Ross   Composer
Ronnie Shannon   Composer
Allen Toussaint   Composer
Ron Miller   Composer
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes
Bert Russell   Composer
Bill Pitzonka   Art Direction
Curtis Ousley   Composer
Ernie Shelby   Composer
Fred Burch   Composer
Gary McEwen   Composer

Customer Reviews