Tetsuo & Youth

Tetsuo & Youth

by Lupe FiascoLupe Fiasco


$19.31 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.31, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Tossing off fans with the Eurodance, EDM, and the unexplainable album Lasers, and then returning to form with Food & Liquor II, Lupe Fiasco finds himself free to soar and aspire on his 2015 effort Tetsuo & Youth, an album inspired by the rapper's upbringing in Chicago. It's also an LP that's conceptually structured, with "Summer," "Fall," "Winter," and "Spring" interludes dotting the track list, but any reservations that the sometimes "preachy" rapper has gone full sanctimonious are wiped away by the easy-rolling opener "Mural" and its elevated series of "LOL" punch lines ("Unless you Virgin Mary, nothin' do it but the truest/Believe all that unless you Jewish" or "And I feel like a missionary to a clitoris"). Guy Sebastian joins for the more poptacular "Blur My Hands," which seems a play for radio at only five-and-a-half minutes, as many numbers stretch longer, sometimes because of musical noodling (a banjo kicks off the great "Dots & Lines") and sometimes because it's a huge posse cut recalling the old days ("Chopper," the album's longest cut at 9:32). These flights of fancy are interesting, intoxicating, or both to varying degrees, but when "Madonna (And Other Mothers in the Hood)" hits the speakers as a poetic and majestic ode to those raising kids in the land of poverty and crime, Lupe offers a purposeful, and arguably perfect, song to anchor it all. His 2006 debut may still be the one to pick, since it's leaner and more instant, but Tetsuo & Youth strolls its way into greatness after a couple listens and wipes out all the bitter aftertaste of Lasers as if that misstep never happened.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/20/2015
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678762901
catalogNumber: 531685
Rank: 65462

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lupe Fiasco   Primary Artist
Billy Bush   Guitar
PJ   Vocals
Crystal Torres   Horn
Nikki Jean   Vocals,Background Vocals
Chris Dave   Drums
Marisol   Vocals
Adam Hall   Banjo
Ty Dolla Sign   Vocals
Peter Lee Johnson   Violin
Erik Hammer   Guitar
Rosy Timms   Violin
Kyle Davidson   Keyboards
DJ Spryte   scratching
Devan William Hampton   Drums
Zack Hall   Mandolin

Technical Credits

S1   Producer
R. Kelly   Composer
Fam-Lay   Composer
Erik Reichers   Engineer
Lupe Fiasco   Producer,Executive Producer,Art Manager,Additional Production
Nikki Jean   Composer
Marsha St. Hubert   Marketing
Simon Morel   Composer,Engineer
Blood Diamonds   Producer
Buk   Composer
Trae Tha Truth   Composer
Simonsayz   Producer
'Free Chilly'   Executive Producer
Wasalu Jaco   Composer,Art Direction
DJ Dahi   Producer
Jamal Johnson   Engineer
Keyz   Producer
Dacoury Natche   Composer
Quality Kid   Producer
Kyle Davidson   Composer,Engineer
Jhair Lazo   Engineer
Devan William Hampton   Composer
Anthony Winfield   Personal Assistant
Maurice "MoeZart" Thomas   Composer,Producer
Wiz Buchanan   Arranger,Programming,Producer
VohnBeatz   Producer
Jack LNDN   Producer

Customer Reviews