Thankful N' Thoughtful

Thankful N' Thoughtful

by Bettye LaVetteBettye LaVette


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Bettye LaVette gets classified as an R&B singer, which she is, of course, but her newest album, the Craig Street-produced Thankful N' Thoughtful, finds her taking her blues, gospel, and soul-influenced singing style into deep, swampy, and edgy American roots territory, and she makes it all work with a sting and bite to her phrasing that ranks her as one of the best living soul singers. She gives Neil Young's "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" a little jump of joy, moving the song away from being plaintive and lonely to something closer to anxious homesickness. Tom Waits' "Yesterday Is Here," complete with brass and reeds, loses some of its clang and becomes a poignant blues. The most stunning track here is LaVette's reinvention of the old folk song "Dirty Old Town," best known in the version by the Pogues. She fills it with disgust and ominous menace -- there's also a slower version of "Dirty Old Town" that lets a measure of sadness creep back in at the close of the album. Thankful N' Thoughtful is a solid outing from an outstanding singer who knows how to growl, croon, grumble, praise, and jump for joy with her vocal phrasing -- whatever makes the song live and breathe. She is still a marvel.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2012
Label: Anti
UPC: 0045778719525
catalogNumber: 87195
Rank: 34558

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bettye LaVette   Primary Artist,Vocals
Chris Bruce   Guitar
Jennifer Condos   Bass
Doug Wieselman   Reeds
Glenn Patscha   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Jonathan Wilson   Banjo,Guitar
Steven Bernstein   Brass
JJ Johnson   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Ewan MacColl   Composer
Beth Nielsen Chapman   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Tom Waits   Composer
Neil Young   Composer
Chris Youlden   Composer
Kathleen Brennan   Composer
Dominic Miller   Composer
Gian Piero Reverberi   Composer
Kevin Savigar   Composer
Sylvester "Sly Stone" Stewart   Composer
Craig Street   Producer
Matthew Cullen   Engineer
Patrick Carney   Composer
Dan Auerbach   Composer
Thomas Callaway   Composer
Gianfranco Reverberi   Composer
Brian Burton   Composer
Eric Gardner   Management
Bryce Gonzales   Engineer
Sylvester Stewart   Composer
Mark Bengston   Engineer
Tom Gold   Booking
Patricia Griffin   Composer
Kim McLean   Composer

Customer Reviews