That's Right

That's Right

by Roomful of BluesRoomful of Blues


$18.64 $18.99 Save 2% Current price is $18.64, Original price is $18.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In 1983 the jump band Roomful of Blues made a CD with Kansas City blues shouter Big Joe Turner. Though the legendary singer had lost his teeth and many of the lyrics were garbled, Turner’s big broad voice brought the music alive like none of the band’s inhouse singers had. Now, for Roomful’s 17th release, the horn-laden band has a mighty fine shouter of their own, Mark DuFresne, who also plays harmonica. Right from the jump of the title cut DuFresne’s voice is as wide-open and as intense as the collective instrumentalists. But they can also swing into a gentler, cocktail mode for “You’re Driving Me Crazy.” And for the minor, Latinized blues “Ocean of Tears” DuFresne’s melodic singing takes gutbucket uptown. And his take on “I’ll Keep on Trying” is 50s R&B at its most heartbreaking. Guitarist Chris Vachon, who now leads Roomful, is also particularly tasty on this cut as well as the Post-War blues of T-Bone Walker’s “I Know Your Wig is Gone” and Jimmy McCracklin’s “I Want to Know.” As for the horn section – Roomful’s most enduring quality over the band’s 35 year career – they are bright without being brassy. They punch in precisely on a Turner classic, “Lipstick, Powder and Paint, hit a Memphis groove for “Tennessee Woman,” and give the instrumental “2 Point 8” a Louie Jordan feel. THAT’S RIGHT! Roomful of Blues is back in better shape than ever.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2003
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551488927
catalogNumber: 4889
Rank: 63091

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roomful of Blues   Primary Artist
Bob Enos   Trumpet
Brad Hallen   Bass
Rich Lataille   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Mark Stevens   Piano,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Chris Vachon   Guitar
Mark DuFresne   Harmonica,Vocals
Mark Earley   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jason Corbiere   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Jimmy McCracklin   Composer
Fenton Robinson   Composer
T-Bone Walker   Composer
Milton Campbell   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Ruby Fisher   Composer
Ken Hopkins   Composer
Elmore James   Composer
B.B. King   Composer
Eddie Lambert   Composer
Mike LeBeau   Live Sound
Clarence Lewis   Composer
Chris Powell   Composer
Bob Robinson   Composer
Jesse Stone   Composer
Chris Vachon   Producer
Eddie Bocage   Composer
Bobby Robinson   Composer
Bob Bell   Liner Notes
Joe Josea   Composer
Sidney Wyche   Composer
Ian Schrier   Engineer
Lenny Terenzi   Cover Graphics
Jim Ferreria   Merchandising
Chris Allen   Cover Photo
Ian Schreier   Engineer

Customer Reviews