The Albums 1968-1972

The Albums 1968-1972

by PentanglePentangle


$83.44 $84.99 Save 2% Current price is $83.44, Original price is $84.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


One of the first English folk supergroups, Pentangle may not have enjoyed the longevity of contemporaries like Fairport Convention and Steeleye Span, but between 1968 and 1972, they delivered an inarguably substantial and singular body of work, and helped launch the careers of guitar legends Bert Jansch and John Renbourn -- that the rest of the core group was top-shelf as well (vocalist Jacqui McShee, double bassist Danny Thompson, and drummer Terry Cox) certainly didn't hurt, either. While 2008's excellent two-disc Light Flight: The Anthology remains the group's best career overview to date, Cherry Red's lovingly assembled, deluxe seven-disc box set featuring remastered versions of all the band's albums is a treasure trove of Pentangle goodness, and a gift for longtime fans. Released to coincide with the group's 50th anniversary, each expanded LP features a bevy of bonus material, including previously unreleased tracks, and the accompanying booklet is a true horn of plenty, boasting 88 pages, a bounty of rare images, and over 20,000 words of sleeve notes (interviews, essays, tour dates, etc.). Like all good compendiums, The Albums 1968-1972 is thorough to the point of exhaustion, and might be a skosh intimidating for the uninitiated, but for seasoned U.K. folk fans, or anybody looking to take a deep dive into one of the genre's most complicated, rewarding, and often underrated collectives, it's as rich and compelling as it is imposing.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/13/2017
Label: Cherry Red
UPC: 5013929104105
catalogNumber: 2910410
Rank: 16621


Disc 1

  1. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
  2. Bells
  3. Hear My Call
  4. Pentangling
  5. Mirage
  6. Way Behind The Sun
  7. Bruton Town
  8. Waltz
  9. Koan
  10. The Wheel
  11. The Casbah
  12. Bruton Town
  13. Hear My Call
  14. Way Behind The Sun
  15. Way Behind The Sun
  16. Bruton Town
  17. Koan
  18. Travelling Song
  19. Poison
  20. I Got A Feeling
  21. Market Song

Disc 2

  1. Market Song
  2. No More My Lord
  3. Turn Your Money Green
  4. Haitian Fight Song
  5. A Woman Like You
  6. Goodbye Pork-Pie Hat
  7. Three Dances: Brentzel Gay/La Rotta/The Earl Of Salisbury
  8. Watch The Stars
  9. So Early In The Spring
  10. No Exit
  11. The Time Has Come
  12. Bruton Town
  13. Hear My Call
  14. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
  15. Bells
  16. Travellin' Song
  17. Waltz
  18. Way Behind The Sun
  19. John Donne Song

Disc 3

  1. Sweet Child
  2. I Loved A Lass
  3. Three Part Thing
  4. Sovay
  5. In Time
  6. In Your Mind
  7. I've Got A Feeling
  8. The Trees They Do Grow High
  9. Moon Dog
  10. Hole In The Coal
  11. Hole In The Coal
  12. The Trees They Do Grow High
  13. Haitian Fight Song
  14. In Time
  15. A Woman Like You
  16. I’ve Got A Woman
  17. I Am Lonely
  18. Poison
  19. Blues
  20. Sally Go Round The Roses
  21. Moondog

Disc 4

  1. Light Flight
  2. Once I Had A Sweetheart
  3. Springtime Promises
  4. Lyke Wake Dirge
  5. Train Song
  6. Hunting Song
  7. Sally Go Round The Roses
  8. The Cuckoo
  9. House Carpenter
  10. Sally Go Round The Roses
  11. Cold Mountain
  12. I Saw An Angel
  13. House Carpenter
  14. Light Flight
  15. Pentangling

Disc 5

  1. A Maid That's Deep In Love
  2. When I Was In My Prime
  3. Lord Franklin
  4. Cruel Sister
  5. Jack Orion
  6. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  7. Rain & Snow
  8. Omie Wise
  9. John’s Song
  10. Reflection
  11. When I Get Home

Disc 6

  1. Wedding Dress
  2. Omie Wise
  3. Will The Circle Be Unbroken?
  4. When I Get Home
  5. Rain & Snow
  6. Helping Hand
  7. So Clear
  8. Reflection
  9. Shake Shake Mama
  10. Kokomo Blues
  11. Faro Annie
  12. Back On The Road Again
  13. Will The Circle Be Unbroken
  14. Reflection
  15. John’s Song
  16. Wondrous Love

Disc 7

  1. Sally Free And Easy
  2. The Cherry Tree Carol
  3. The Snows
  4. High Germany
  5. People On The Highway
  6. Willy O’ Winsbury
  7. No Love Is Sorrow
  8. Jump, Baby, Jump
  9. Lady Of Carlisle
  10. When I Get Home
  11. She Moved Through The Fair [
  12. Train Song

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pentangle   Primary Artist
Bert Jansch   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
John Renbourn   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Terry Cox   Drums,Glockenspiel,Vocals,Group Member
Jacqui McShee   Vocals,Group Member
Danny Thompson   Double Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

Furry Lewis   Composer
Ian Campbell   Composer
Ewan MacColl   Composer
William Byrd   Composer
Claude Gervaise   Composer
Bert Jansch   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
Staple Singers   Composer
Charles Mingus   Composer
Steve Ashley   Composer
John Renbourn   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
Cyril Tawney   Composer
Jerry Boys   Engineer
Anne Briggs   Composer
Terry Cox   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
Sue Draheim   Composer
Bill Leader   Producer
Jacqui McShee   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
Gilbert O'Sullivan   Composer
John Peel   Liner Notes
Danny Thompson   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
Padraic Colum   Arranger
Zell Sanders   Composer
John Donne   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Colin Harper   Track Notes
Keith Davey   Art Direction
Wesley Westbrooks   Composer
Hamish & Gustav   Sleeve Design

Customer Reviews