Anzac Sonata: New and Selected Poems

Anzac Sonata: New and Selected Poems

by Jon Stallworthy


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This volume, Jon Stallworthy's seventh collection, powerfully reminds us of his well-established strengths. The twenty new poems typify the way in which his best work mingles a graphically personal element with a strong sense of social responsibility.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780393304220
Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 10/17/1988
Series: New and Selected Poems
Pages: 144
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Jon Stallworthy (M.A. and B.Litt. Oxford) is Senior Research Fellow at Wolfson College of Oxford University, where he is an Emeritus Professor of English Literature. He is also former John Wendell Anderson Professor at Cornell, where he taught after a career at Oxford University Press. His biography of Wilfred Owen won the Duff Cooper Memorial Prize, the W. H. Smith Literary Award, and the E. M. Forster Award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His biography of Louis MacNeice won the Southern Arts Literary Prize. He is also the author of Rounding the Horn: Collected Poems and Singing School: The Making of a Poet, and editor of the definitive edition of Wilfred Owen’s poetry, The Complete Poems and Fragments; The Penguin Book of Love Poetry; The Oxford Book of War Poetry; and coeditor of The Norton Anthology of Poetry. Stallworthy has received a Guggenheim Fellowship and is a Fellow of the British Academy and the Royal Society of Literature.

Customer Reviews