The Art of Alicia de Larrocha

The Art of Alicia de Larrocha

by Alicia de Larrocha

CD(7-CD Box Set)

$43.78 $55.99 Save 22% Current price is $43.78, Original price is $55.99. You Save 22%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 26


This splendid seven-disc set marks Alicia de Larrocha's 2003 retirement from the concert stage after an extraordinary career spanning more than seven decades. To many listeners, she is a peerless performer of Iberian (particularly Spanish and Catalan) music. Indeed, as her rendition of Manuel de Falla's "Nights in the Gardens of Spain" demonstrates, this Catalan pianist brilliantly captures the indefinable magic and charm of Iberian music, revealing a timeless richness and depth that lesser artists, conforming to ideas of national style, often miss. It would be a mistake, however, to define de Larrocha as an "Iberian specialist." As this set demonstrates, her rich repertoire encompasses various traditions and a timespan from the late Baroque to the present, from Bach to Xavier Montsalvatge (1912-2002). What could be less Iberian than Liszt's brooding (and astonishingly demanding) "Sonata in B minor"? Yet de Larrocha's rendition of this work ingeniously breaks the spell of monotony (created by almost obsessive thematic reiterations), restoring Liszt's complex work to its original brilliance by attacking the almost insurmountable technical difficulties not as obstacles but as a means to an end. For de Larrocha, music is the profound, mysterious stream that is only imperfectly defined by the linear mechanics of quantified time and form. Listening to her impeccable performance of Bach's "Italian Concerto," for example, listeners hear (feel?) almost imperceptibly brief bursts energy as she intuitively grasps the overwhelming power locked in the formal edifice of Bach's music. Similarly, her exquisite reading of Haydn's "Piano Concerto in D major" follows the music's inner impulse underneath the rhythmic surface, translating the composer's inspiration into an extraordinary experience of lightness and breathtaking freedom. Also featured are impressive readings of works by Mozart, Chopin, Schubert, Mendelssohn, Ravel, Khachaturian, Mompou, and Beethoven.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/10/2003
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947381327
catalogNumber: 000018002
Rank: 118662


  1. Italian Concerto, for solo keyboard in F major (Clavier-Übung II/1), BWV 971 (BC L7)
  2. French Suite, for keyboard No. 6 in E major, BWV 817 (BC L24)
  3. Work(s): Beloved Jesu, we are here
  4. Work(s): Sanctify us by thy goodness
  5. Chaconne, transcription for piano in D minor (after J. S. Bach, BWV 1004), KiV B24
  6. Concerto for harpsichord, strings & continuo No. 5 in F minor, BWV 1056
  7. Keyboard Concerto in D major, H. 18/2
  8. Andante with variations for piano in F minor, H. 17/6
  9. Piano Sonata No. 11 in A major ("Alla Turca") K. 331 (K. 300i)
  10. Piano Sonata No. 17 in D major ("Trumpet", "Hunt"), K. 576
  11. Bagatelles (7) for piano, Op. 33
  12. Variations sérieuses, for piano in D minor, Op. 54
  13. Preludes (24) for piano, Op. 28, CT. 166-189
  14. Berceuse for piano in D flat major, Op. 57, CT. 7
  15. Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21, CT. 48
  16. Piano Sonata No. 21 in B flat major, D. 960
  17. Impromptu for piano in A flat major, D. 899/4 (Op. 90/4)
  18. Piano Sonata in B minor, S. 178 (LW A179)
  19. Fantasie (Obolen auf Beethovens Monument) for piano in C major, Op. 17
  20. Allegro for piano in B minor, Op. 8
  21. Romance for piano in F sharp major (Einfach), Op. 28/2
  22. Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54
  23. Sonata for keyboard, No. 42 in G minor
  24. Sonata for keyboard, No 15 in D minor
  25. Sonata for keyboard, No. 89 in F major
  26. Danzas andaluzas (3) for piano, Op. 8: No. 3. Zapatadeo
  27. Spanish Dances (12), in 4 volumes for piano (also arrangements), Op. 37, H. 142: Book 2. No. 4. Villanesca
  28. Spanish Dances (12), in 4 volumes for piano (also arrangements), Op. 37, H. 142: Book 2. No. 5. Andaluza
  29. Spanish Dances (12), in 4 volumes for piano (also arrangements), Op. 37, H. 142: Book 2. No. 6. Rondalla aragonesa
  30. El pelele, for piano (also arr. for 2 pianos by Llongás), H. 106
  31. Sonatina for Yvette, for piano
  32. Prelude for piano No 7 "à Alicia de Larrocha"
  33. España, album leaves (6) for piano, Op. 165, B. 37: No. 2. Tango
  34. Iberia Suite for piano, B. 47, Book 1
  35. Fantasía Baetica, for piano, G. 55 (orchestrated by Halffter)
  36. Noches en los jardines de España (Nights in the Gardens of Spain), for piano & orchestra, G. 49
  37. Piano Concerto in D flat major (also arranged for 2 pianos)
  38. Piano Concerto in D major (for the left hand)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews