The Art of Segovia

The Art of Segovia

by Andrés SegoviaAndrés Segovia




Anyone who loves the classical guitar must also love Andrés Segovia -- even if he/she doesn't know it yet. He is credited with garnering -- almost single-handedly -- big-league status for the plucky six-string, and virtually every modern player stands on the foundation of his legacy. Anyone wanting to hear why this is true would do well to start with Deutsche Grammophon's lovingly prepared The Art of Segovia, which pays tribute to both his playing and his tireless repertory building. His performances of guitar staples by Sor, Torroba, and Rodrigo are coupled here with his nimble transcriptions of works for keyboard, cello, violin -- even string quartet -- by Bach, Handel, César Franck, Mendelssohn, and others; these two elements combine to give as complete a picture as possible (considering the limitations of space on a modest two-disc set) of his technique and ingenuity, and of course his grasp of the guitar's possibilities. Audiophiles won't find ideal sound here; many of the tracks were recorded monaurally, and the performances seem a little unkempt next to airbrushed digital equivalents. But this is what makes it so interesting; you can practically see his fingers intuitively working their way across the instrument, and the occasional squeak or buzz only makes the experience more vivid. The many highlights include Fernando Sor's "Theme and Variations on a Theme from The Magic Flute" and Segovia's transcription of the Prélude to Bach's "Suite No. 1 for Cello," both of which sound intricate and easy. One of the few disappointments is the "Sarabande" from Handel's "Suite No. 4 for Harpsichord"; it, more than any other transcription here, sounds homesick for its native instrument. But this is nitpicking. These performances convey an infectious love and understanding of the guitar that is a joy to experience.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/08/2002
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947169727
catalogNumber: 471697


Disc 1

  1. Recuerdos de la Alhambra, for guitar  (05:16)
  2. Capricho árabe, for guitar  (05:26)
  3. Marieta, mazurka for guitar  (02:29)
  4. Romanza de los piños, for guitar  (01:46)
  5. Madroños for guitar  (02:56)
  6. Serenata burlesca  (02:55)
  7. Introduction, Theme, & Variations on a Theme From Mozart's "The Magic Flute, " for guitar, Op. 9  (07:10)
  8. Homenaje pour "Le tombeau de Claude Debussy," for guitar, G. 56  (02:39)
  9. Thème, Varié et Finale for guitar  (07:57)
  10. Canción mexicana No. X  (01:32)
  11. Sevillana, fantasia for guitar, Op. 29  (05:59)
  12. Zarabanda lejana, for guitar ("Homenaje a Luis de Milán")  (05:04)
  13. Capriccio diabolico, for guitar ("Omaggio a Paganini"), Op. 85  (09:14)
  14. Tonadilla on the Name of Andrés Segovia, for guitar, Op. 170/5  (05:10)
  15. Prelúdio, for guitar No. 1 in E Minor, A. 419/1  (04:27)
  16. Prelúdio, for guitar No. 3 in A Minor, A. 419/3  (05:14)
  17. Guitarreo, for guitar  (01:27)
  18. Ségovia for guitar, Op. 29  (03:00)

Disc 2

  1. If my complaints could passions move, for 4 voices & lute (First Book of Songs)  (02:07)
  2. The Frog Galliard, for lute, P 23  (00:50)
  3. Suite for keyboard (Suite de piece), Vol.2, No.4 in D minor, HWV 437: Sarabande

    1. Sarabande  (03:58)
  4. Suite for solo cello No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007: 1. Prélude (transposed to D major)

    1. 1. Prélude (transposed to D major)  (02:19)
  5. Partita for solo violin No. 1 in B minor, BWV 1002: 4. Tempo di Bourrée

    1. 4. Tempo di Bourrée  (03:36)
  6. Suite for solo cello No. 3 in C major, BWV 1009: 3. Courante

    1. 3. Courante  (02:59)
  7. Partita for solo violin No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006: 3. Gavotte en Rondeau

    1. 3. Gavotte en Rondeau  (03:01)
  8. Aria with Variations, for guitar (music by Frescobaldi arranged by Segovia)  (06:40)
  9. Sonata for keyboard in C minor, K. 11 (L. 352)  (03:17)
  10. Nouvelles suites de pièces de clavecin, for harpsichord: Menuet in G major

    1. Menuet in G major  (03:39)
  11. Andantino variato, for guitar (after Paganini)  (07:40)
  12. Prelude for piano No. 7 in A major, Op. 28/7, CT. 172  (01:00)
  13. String Quartet No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 12: 2. Canzonetta (Allegretto - più mosso)

    1. 2. Canzonetta (Allegretto - più mosso)  (04:34)
  14. L'organiste Vol.1, for organ (or harmonium), M. 41: 2. Quasi lento [Preludio]

    1. 2. Quasi lento [Preludio]  (01:08)
  15. L'organiste Vol.1, for organ (or harmonium), M. 41: 1. Andantino poco Allegretto [Allegretto]

    1. 1. Andantino poco Allegretto [Allegretto]  (03:04)
  16. Pictures at an Exhibition (Kartinki s vïstavski), for piano: 2. Il vecchio castello (The old castle), Andante m

    1. 2. Il vecchio castello (The old castle), Andante molto cantabile e con dolore  (04:52)
  17. Melody, lyric piece for piano, Op. 47/3  (03:31)
  18. La fille aux cheveux de lin, prelude for piano, L. 117/8  (02:55)
  19. Prelude for piano in E flat minor, Op. 16/4  (01:14)
  20. Suite española No. 1, for piano, Op. 47, B. 7: No. 5 Asturias. Leyenda: Preludeio, Allegro ma non

    1. No. 5 Asturias. Leyenda: Preludeio, Allegro ma non troppo  (06:26)
  21. Piezas características (12), for piano, Op. 92, B. 29: No. 7, Zambra Granadina

    1. No. 7, Zambra Granadina  (04:45)
  22. Etude for guitar ("Estudio Sin Luz")  (02:49)
  23. Fantasía para un gentilhombre, for guitar & orchestra: 3. Danza de las hachas, Allegro con brio

    1. 3. Danza de las hachas, Allegro con brio  (02:15)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews