The Best of DMX

The Best of DMX



Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In the three years since the slightly superior DMX collection The Definition of X: The Pick of the Litter was released, the high-intensity rapper concentrated more on acting than music. Even if his output had been scant since the last set, his jumping ship and signing to Columbia in 2009 gives former Def Jam label good reason to release a new collection. In the liner notes, 2010's The Best of DMX wears every chart position with pride, as if deep cuts don't matter, just the big numbers. This means the set does offer something pleasingly different than its predecessor, pulling the great big single "Grand Finale" off the Belly soundtrack, but save a couple different picks and an historical liner essay, there's little reason for Definition owners to update. On the other hand, anyone without any DMX in their catalog will find the set a thrilling overview with massive hits like "What's My Name," "We Right Here," "Where the Hood At," and "Ruff Ryders' Anthem" sitting next to fan favorites like "Damien" and "X Gon' Give It to Ya." Even if Definition has the edge, this is still a great introduction, a fantastic portable hits collection, plus a significant step up from the faceless 2009 set Playlist Your Way.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/26/2010
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0602527272399
catalogNumber: 001378602
Rank: 6766

Album Credits

Performance Credits

DMX   Primary Artist
Dustin Adams   Vocals
Schamika Grant   Background Vocals
Lovey Ford   Background Vocals
Tamyra Gray   Vocals
Cliff Branch   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Mickey Davis   Composer
Adam Gazzola   Engineer
Rich Keller   Engineer
Michael Masser   Composer
Grover Washington   Composer
DJ Scratch   Producer
Amy Linden   Liner Notes
Vartan   Art Direction
Charles "Prince Charles" Alexander   Engineer
D'Anthony Johnson   Engineer
Chris Theis   Engineer
Irv Gotti   Composer,Producer
Keith Slattery   Engineer
George Spivey   Composer
Lil Rob   Producer,Instrumentation
Mark Andrews   Composer
Irving Lorenzo   Composer
Earl Simmons   Composer
Antonio Hardy   Composer
Phil Weatherspoon   Composer
Justice Johnson   Engineer
C. Smith   Composer
Swizz Beatz   Producer
Grease   Producer,Additional Production
DJ Shok   Producer
Black Key   Producer
Ryan Null   Photo Coordination
Kasseem Dean   Composer
Dragan "Chach" Cacinovic   Engineer
Otto D'Angolo   Engineer
Tamir Ruffin   Composer
Scott Ravine   Licensing
Nokio   Producer
Tune Headz   Producer
Melvin "Hip" Armstead   Producer
Shatek King   Composer,Producer
D. Gregory Smart   Compilation Supervisor
Michael Gomez   Composer
Jamie Weddle   Engineer
Katie Davis   Composer
E. Simmons   Composer
Edward Hinson   Composer
Pat Viala   Engineer
Maldrige Cowart   Composer
Leonard Perry   Composer
Franklin Crum   Composer
Eric Serrano   Composer
Darrin Dean   Composer
Damon Blackmon   Composer
Anthony Fields   Composer
"Kenya Fame Flames" Miller   Programming
Tanya Gardner   Composer
Sam Taylor   Composer

Customer Reviews