The Best of Duke Ellington [Capitol]

The Best of Duke Ellington [Capitol]

by Duke EllingtonDuke Ellington


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Best of Duke Ellington is a ten-track budget-priced collection that features some of his biggest pop hits, including "Jump for Joy," "New Mood Indigo, " "Mack the Knife" and "Where's the Music?, " but there are also a lot of songs that won't be particularly familiar to large audiences. Furthermore, the sampler nature of this disc -- especially since there are no sources given for the recordings -- makes it unappealing to jazz collectors. Nevertheless, it's not bad for a budget-priced disc, but keep in mind that there are far better collections available, offering more songs and better sound for not much more money.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/05/1992
Label: Curb Records
UPC: 0715187750524
catalogNumber: 77505
Rank: 57719

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duke Ellington   Primary Artist,Piano
Cat Anderson   Trumpet
Bill Berry   Trumpet
Mercer Ellington   Trumpet
Paul Gonsalves   Reeds,Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Hodges   Clarinet,Reeds,Alto Saxophone
Ray Nance   Trumpet,Violin,Vocals,Track Performer
Oscar Pettiford   Bass
Cootie Williams   Trumpet
Aaron Bell   Bass
Lawrence Brown   Trombone
Willie Cook   Trumpet
Rick Henderson   Alto Saxophone
Jimmy Woode   Bass
Russell Procope   Clarinet,Reeds,Alto Saxophone
Chuck Connors   Trombone
Quentin Jackson   Trombone
Britt Woodman   Trombone
Butch Ballard   Drums
Roy Burrowes   Trumpet
Harry Carney   Bass,Clarinet,Reeds,Baritone Saxophone
Clark Terry   Trumpet
Alfred Cobbs   Trombone
Ralph Collier   Conga
Buster Cooper   Trombone
Jimmy Hamilton   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Wendell Marshall   Bass
Peck Morrison   Bass
John Sanders   Trombone,Valve Trombone
Billy Strayhorn   Celeste
Juan Tizol   Trombone
Sam Woodyard   Drums
Leon Cox   Trombone
Herbie Jones   Trumpet
David Black   Drums

Technical Credits

Bruce Mitchell   Paintings
Benny Goodman   Composer
Lionel Hampton   Composer
Roger Rhodes   Liner Notes
Dave Dexter   Producer
Don Ovens   Liner Notes
Darcy Cloutier-Fernald   Art Direction
Sydney Robin   Composer
Sid Robin   Composer

Customer Reviews