The Best of Eddie Harris

The Best of Eddie Harris

by Eddie HarrisEddie Harris


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 6


Part of a massive Atlantic Jazz Anthology series in 1970, this LP-turned-CD was skimpy in its day, and now serves as the sketchiest of introductions to this bewilderingly eclectic saxophonist/inventor/pianist/bopper/balladeer/funkmeister. Even assuming the limited time frame, why were three of Eddie Harris' seven Atlantic albums up to that point (Mean Greens, The Tender Storm, Silver Cycles) not even represented, and where is that galvanic swinger "Sham Time"? That said, there is still an awful lot of great '60s jazz on this Best of Eddie Harris anyway: the funky-funky hit version of "Listen Here," two of its soulful successors, "Live Right Now" and "Movin' on Out"; the enduring pretzel-like "Freedom Jazz Dance"; a nice cover of "The Shadow of Your Smile"; and the lush, perhaps even tongue-in-cheek "Theme in Search of a Movie." Buy this only if you cannot afford the far-more-comprehensive two-CD box, Artist's Choice.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/31/1990
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678137020
catalogNumber: 1545
Rank: 61029

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddie Harris   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Electric Saxophone
Ray Barretto   Latin Percussion
Ron Carter   Bass
Jodie Christian   Piano
King Curtis   Tenor Saxophone
Billy Hart   Drums
Billy Higgins   Drums
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Jimmy Owens   Trumpet
Rufus Reid   Bass
Cedar Walton   Piano
Seldon Powell   Baritone Saxophone
Chuck Rainey   Bass Guitar
Grady Tate   Drums
Muhal Richard Abrams   Electric Piano
Ray Codrington   Trumpet
Vivian Harrell   Background Vocals
Haywood Henry   Baritone Saxophone
Marilyn Haywood   Background Vocals
Felix Henry   Percussion
William James   Drums,Electric Bongos
Tom McIntosh   Trombone
Ronald Muldrow   Guitar,Guitorgan
Louis Spears   Bass
Mary Ann Stewart   Background Vocals
Joe Wohletz   Latin Percussion
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Bennie Powell   Bass Trombone
Richard Smith   Drums
Mel Lastie   Trumpet
Melvin Jackson   Bass

Technical Credits

Eddie Harris   Producer
Adrian Barber   Engineer
Joel Dorn   Producer
Tom Dowd   Engineer
Nesuhi Ertegun   Producer
William S. Fischer   Horn Arrangements
Geoffrey Haslam   Producer
Phil Iehle   Engineer
Arif Mardin   Producer,String Arrangements
Bob Porter   Reissue Producer
Bruce Swedien   Engineer,Remixing
Bruce Tergesen   Engineer
Marvin Lagunoff   Producer
Loring Eutemey   Cover Design

Customer Reviews