The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles

The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles

by Wanda JacksonWanda Jackson


$17.30 $17.99 Save 4% Current price is $17.3, Original price is $17.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Never mind the titular suggestion of cherry-picking: Omnivore's 2013 set The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles provides the A- and B-sides for the singles Wanda Jackson released on Capitol between 1956 and 1963 (her immortal 1960 45 "Let's Have a Party" was supported by "Cool Love," an A-side from 1957, which explains why this weighs in at an odd 29 tracks). These singles have been chronicled several times before -- Rhino released an excellent set called Rockin' in the Country in 1990, Ace focused on Wanda's rock and country on separate compilations -- but the closest antecedent to The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles is Capitol's 1996 Vintage Collections Series, which focused on the same time period and contains significant overlap with this disc, but Omnivore's collection is the superior compilation and the best single-disc Jackson collection that's ever been assembled. By progressing chronologically, this conveys Jackson's shift from country to rockabilly and back, along with illustrating how adept she was in both styles. Plus, at 29 tracks, The Best of the Classic Capitol Singles is exceptionally generous, providing an immersive introduction to Wanda Jackson's peak that also doubles as a definitive retrospective of this pioneering rocker.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/12/2013
Label: Omnivore Recordings
UPC: 0816651013593
catalogNumber: 101359
Rank: 68298

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wanda Jackson   Primary Artist
Roy Clark   Electric Guitar
Joe Maphis   Guitar
Skeets McDonald   Bass
Buck Owens   Guitar
Merrill Moore   Piano
Harold Bradley   Guitar
Roland Bundock   Bass
Roy Harte   Drums
Ralph Mooney   Steel Guitar
Lewis Talley   Guitar
Marvin Hughes   Piano
Bob Moore   Bass
Jelly Sanders   Fiddle
Vernon Sandusky   Guitar
Joe Brawley   Drums
Marion Z. "Pee Wee" Adams   Drums
J.W. Marshall   Guitar
Bud Dooley   Bass

Technical Credits

Bobby Bare   Composer
Wanda Jackson   Composer
Chuck Willis   Composer
Danny Barker   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Greg Allen   Art Direction
Joe Allison   Composer
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
Harlan Howard   Composer
Cheryl Pawelski   Memorabilia,Engineering
Mike Stoller   Composer
Frank Thomas   Composer
Marijohn Wilkin   Composer
Daniel Cooper   Liner Notes
Mae Boren Axton   Composer
Bobby Lord   Composer
Charles McCoy   Composer
Tommy Durden   Composer
Jessie Mae Robinson   Composer
Glenn Reeves   Composer
Jack Rhodes   Composer
Audrey Allison   Composer
Ted Brooks   Composer
Earl Burrows   Composer
Vicki Countryman   Composer
Pat Franzese   Composer
Kent Westberry   Composer
Charlie Williams   Composer
Bryan George   Licensing
James Coleman   Composer
Bernard Jolivette   Composer
Laurie Christenson   Composer
Thelma Blackman   Composer
William Wilson   Contributor
Rachel Lane   Composer
Dan Raye   Composer
Dick Reynolds   Composer

Customer Reviews