The Best of the Concord Years

The Best of the Concord Years

by Charlie ByrdCharlie Byrd




The freedom, confidence, and respect that Charlie Byrd experienced during his remarkable 25-year career at Concord Records is captured on this excellent compilation entitled, The Best of the Concord Years. The two-disc set features the guitarist's singular approach in a variety of settings, each a distinctive piece of a bold, larger design in the stellar career of the legendary guitar master. Disc one includes excellent renditions of timeless classics by Duke Ellington and Great American Songbook masters Harold Arlen and Irving Berlin. His own "Remembering Louis Armstrong," originally issued on For Louis, Byrd's final studio CD for Concord Jazz, is included. His one-of-a-kind interpretation of "St. Louis Blues" by the immortal W. C. Handy reflects his prolific and diverse musical interests and the influence of the blues men that he met during his childhood. Disc two is an amazing 16-song collection of his penchant for Brazilian music and Latin jazz. Music by Oscar Castro-Neves, Antonio Carlos Jobim, and Claudio Nucci fill this release with an odyssey of music from the Brazilian masters, which features the beautiful bossa nova "Desafinada," sung by vocalist Maucha Adnet and featuring Romero Lubambo on guitar. This was the last bossa nova record Byrd made. From "Gitanerias" and "Dindi" to his "At the Seaside" and "So Danco Samba," the musical legacy of Charlie Byrd remains one of the most respected in music history.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2000
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0013431493228
catalogNumber: 4932

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Charlie Byrd   Primary Artist,Guitar
Laurindo Almeida   Track Performer
Carlos Barbosa-Lima   Guitar
Allen Farnham   Piano
Jeff Hamilton   Drums
Scott Hamilton   Tenor Saxophone
Hendrik Meurkens   Harmonica
Ken Peplowski   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Bud Shank   Alto Saxophone
Dennis Irwin   Bass
Joe Wilder   Trumpet
Joe Byrd   Bass
Johnny Frigo   Violin
John Goldsby   Bass
Larry Grenadier   Bass
Milt Holland   Percussion
Romero Lubambo   Guitar
Bob Magnusson   Bass
Nilson Matta   Bass
Jeffrey Meyerriecks   Guitar
Wayne Phillips   Drums
Chuck Redd   Drums,Vibes
Michael Shapiro   Percussion,Drums
Myrna Sislen   Guitar
Larry Snitzler   Guitar
Frank Vignola   Rhythm Guitar
Maucha Adnet   Vocals

Technical Credits

Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Mel Tormé   Composer
Fred E. Ahlert   Composer
John Burk   Executive Producer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Robert Wells   Composer
Alexis Davis   Product Development
Ray Gilbert   Composer
Glen Barros   Executive Producer
Darren Wong   Original Design Concept
Edgar Leslie   Composer
Newton Mendonça   Composer
Jayme Silva   Composer
Neuza Teixeira   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Jim Ohlschmidt   Producer

Customer Reviews