The Best of Weather Report

The Best of Weather Report

by Weather ReportWeather Report

CD(Dutch Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A “best of” recording can only touch on the riches of Weather Report’s momentous career, but there’s plenty of memorable music to be found here nonetheless. For much of their 15-year tenure the brainchild of keyboardist Joe Zawinul and saxophonist Wayne Shorter went through myriad changes in personnel; this collection concentrates on the fully electric editions of the ensemble. (There are no selections from either the eponymously titled first album or the second, I Sing the Body Electric). With the addition of the innovative electric bassist Jaco Pastorious, Weather Report became one of the most popular fusion acts of the time; such tracks as “Birdland,” “A Remark You Made,” and “Night Passage” reflect their unbeatable combination of virtuosity and compositional flair. Earlier versions of Weather Report also receive attention: “Boogie Woogie Waltz,” “Mysterious Traveler,” “Blackthorne Rose," and “Black Market” rank high among their finest moments. Although Weather Report continued after Jaco Pastorious left, there are no selections from the band’s three post-Jaco albums.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/11/2010
Label: Imports
UPC: 5099750765920
catalogNumber: 921304
Rank: 59430

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Weather Report   Primary Artist
Peter Erskine   Drums
Jaco Pastorius   Electric Bass,Vocals,Mandocello
Wayne Shorter   Piano,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Lyricon,Shells
Miroslav Vitous   Electric Bass
Andrew White   Electric Bass
Chester Thompson   Drums
Don Alias   Percussion
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Drums,Timpani
Muruga   Clay Drums
Alex Acuña   Percussion,Conga,Drums
Joe Zawinul   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Vocals,Melodica,fender rhodes,oberheim,Piano (Grand),Arp 2600,Mu-Tron,Prophet 5
Manolo Badrena   Percussion,Conga,Tambourine
Herschell Dwellingham   Drums
Skip Hadden   Drums
Alphonso Johnson   Electric Bass
Alyrio Lima   Percussion
Narada Michael Walden   Drums
Dom Um Romão   Percussion,Bells,Tambor,Chucalho
Ishmael Wilburn   Drums
Bobby Thomas   Percussion
Eric Kamau Grávátt   Drums

Technical Credits

Jaco Pastorius   Producer
Wayne Shorter   Producer
Joe Zawinul   Programming,Producer,Orchestration
Bruce Botnick   Engineer
Alan Howarth   Programming
Alex Kazanegras   Engineer
Ron Malo   Engineer
Hal Miller   Liner Notes
Don Hunstein   Cover Photo
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Linda Chang   Packaging Manager
Fabiola Cáceres   Art Direction

Customer Reviews