The Big Book of Sound and Other Stories

The Big Book of Sound and Other Stories

by Jon Steinhagen


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Fiction. "Jon Steinhagen's THE BIG BOOK OF SOUNDS captures the rhythm of everyday life at its most sinister, deftly leading us into a world that is simultaneously familiar and unsettling. In twenty-two flawless tales, most escapades in form as well as substance, Steinhagen creates a haunting world that is vivid and true and categorically unique. Imagine the spare, sharp prose of Sherwood Anderson layered with Shirley Jackson's eerie genius... and you have maybe an inkling of the adventure in store for you. THE BIG BOOK OF SOUNDS is a work of towering imagination, a collection of carefully burnished gems not to be missed."—Jacob M. Appel

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781625579461
Publisher: Black Lawrence Press
Publication date: 07/31/2016
Pages: 225
Product dimensions: 8.40(w) x 5.50(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Jon Steinhagen is a Chicago-based author, playwright, composer/lyricist, and actor. He has been a Resident Playwright at Chicago Dramatists since 2008 and has received four Joseph Jefferson Awards and eleven nominations for his work in Chicago theater. His stories have appeared in many print and online literary journals, while his plays "Blizzard '67" and "Successors" and musicals "The Teapot Scandals" and "Emma & Company" have been produced nationally. He received the Julie Harris Award for Playwriting in 2009 for "The Analytical Engine" and was an awarded finalist for the Clubbed Thumb Biennial Commission in 2013 for "Devil's Day Off." He is a member of the Dramatists Guild of America and company member of Signal Ensemble Theatre.

Table of Contents


Customer Reviews