The Big Picture

The Big Picture

by Da' T.R.U.T.H.Da' T.R.U.T.H.


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


If Da' T.R.U.T.H.'s 2007 Stellar Award-winning effort Open Book was his personal, inward-looking album, this 2009 follow-up lives up to its title and pushes outward in epic fashion. Drawing its inspiration from the state of the world and exploring how humanity fits into God's plan, The Big Picture -- and it's a really, really big picture -- takes the gospel rapper into undiscovered territory when it comes to themes, but even more so when it comes to musical genres. Dirty South-style production fuels the triumphant "Trumpet Blow," while "Great Wall" employs a grand arrangement somewhere in the vicinity of R. Kelly's "I Believe I Can Fly." "Talk to You" uses a bright beat that falls somewhere between alternative rap and dance music, but the big fearless moment comes during "How Long" when the rapper tries his hand at straight-up singing over grown folks R&B. It's a success, as are the more risky songwriting moments, a case in point being "My President," which offers a holy alternative to the Young Jeezy hit of the same name ("Jeezy said my President is black, my Lambo's blue/I say my President's black, my Lord is the truth"). Through it all, Da' T.R.U.T.H. sounds comfortably at home, executing every experiment, epic track, or superstar collaboration (Kirk Franklin, Tye Tribbett, the Deluge Band, and others) with confidence and authority, but it's a testament to the man's understanding of the album format that he exits on the hook-filled and relatively light "Suitcase," a track that testifies over a Jay-Z-styled Brooklyn bounce. Track by track or as a whole, The Big Picture is Da' T.R.U.T.H. as usual, exceeding expectations and delivering heavy messages in appealing packages.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/21/2009
Label: Cross Movement
UPC: 0881413003624
catalogNumber: 30036
Rank: 54876

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Da' T.R.U.T.H.   Primary Artist
Melinda Jean Wilson   Vocals
Ryan Moys   Bass
Branches   Vocals
Jeremiah   Vocals
Jonathan Stockstill   Keyboards,Vocals
Tia Pittman   Vocals
Ross Bellenoit   Guitar
Ilia Daniels   Vocals
Eden   Vocals
Trinity   Vocals
Summer Rose Lambert   Vocals
Sinai   Vocals
Owen Salter   Vocals
Nicole Lambert   Vocals
Monielle Laney   Vocals
Lyncoln Tribbett   Vocals
Joseph Salter   Vocals
Ilia Daniels   Vocals
Emanuel Lambert   Vocals
Corey Bastin   Bass
Chabra Mercer   Bass
Carlisle Jackson   Vocals
Austyn Tribbet   Vocals
Andrae Harrison   Drums
Andrae Ames   Vocals
Freddy Washington   Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Chris Graham   Vocals

Technical Credits

Ryan Moys   Engineer
Tye Tribbett   Composer
Tre Nagella   Engineer
J.R.   Producer
Tia Pittman   Composer
Jerry Turner   Arranger
Tony "Stone" Shepherd   Producer
Kevin "Hothandz" Mayfield   Producer
Jahaziel Elliott   Composer
GP   Producer
Emanuel Lambert   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Dave Hackley   Producer
Darrell Bell   Composer
Andrae Ames   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Allen Swoope   Composer
Freddy Washington   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Steven Abramsamadu   Composer
Courtney Peebles   Composer
Jerry Turner   Arranger
Christopher Grant   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews