The Black Godfather

The Black Godfather

by Andre WilliamsAndre Williams




After recording one of the sleaziest albums of recent memory, 1998's Silky, what was Andre Williams supposed to do for an encore? Well, with The Black Godfather, Mr. Rhythm brings sleaze rock to new heights (or depths, depending on how you look at it). On Silky, producer and general co-conspirator Mick Collins (of the Gories and the Dirtbombs) rounded up an impressive team of Detroit-area grit-rock all-stars to back up Williams, but for The Black Godfather, Collins and Williams went nationwide, with the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, the Compulsive Gamblers (formerly the Oblivions), the Cheater Slicks, and the Countdowns all kicking up a fuss as Williams wails on "Whip That Booty," "Nasty Women" "I Hate Cha," and "The Dealer, the Peeler, and the Stealer." While Silky sounded somewhat more unified, The Black Godfather rocks a good bit harder, and while the previous album featured the occasional moment of (relatively) subtle calm, this time out Williams is firing on all cylinders at once and sounding as nasty as he wants to be. The Black Godfather is loud, it's wild, and my, but it's in poor taste; if that sounds like a bad thing to you, you're best off leaving this be, but if that description sounds like fun, pick this up and have a party as Andre Williams shows you how to Sling That Thing. Points added for the cover, a hilariously accurate parody of a typical No Limit Records package.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/16/2000
Label: In The Red Records
UPC: 0759718506525
catalogNumber: 65

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Andre Williams   Primary Artist,Vocals
Jim Diamond   Bass
Steve MacKay   Saxophone
Patrick Pantano   Drums
Jon Spencer   Guitar,Vocals
Jack Oblivian & Impala   Drums
Compulsive Gamblers   Background Vocals
Russell Simins   Drums,Vocals
Judah Bauer   Guitar
Brian Waters   Guitar
Greg Oblivian   Guitar
Tom Shannon   Guitar
Dirtbombs   Background Vocals
Dave Shannon   Guitar
Ewolf   Drums
Dana Hatch   Drums
Craig Waters   Drums
John Sellers   Bass

Technical Credits

Jimmy Hole   Art Direction
Mike McHugh   Engineer
Mick Collins   Producer
Scott Waters   Engineer

Customer Reviews