The Boat Runner

The Boat Runner

by Devin Murphy

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Overview

National Bestseller

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem.

On days when they aren’t playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys’ father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory.

When war breaks out, Jacob’s world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life—and his life’s mission—forever.

Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy’s harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people’s stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails. 

 

 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062658012
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/05/2017
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 455,981
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Devin Murphy is the nationally bestselling author of The Boat Runner. His fiction has appeared in more than sixty literary journals and anthologies, including The Missouri Review, Glimmer Train, and Confrontation. He is an Associate Professor at Bradley University and lives in Chicago with his wife and kids.

www.devinmurphyauthor.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Boat Runner: A Novel 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Intense, artful imagery of human suffering caused by hate, loss of love and family, and the drive to survive the hell of war. Told through the voice of a Dutch boy that painfully survives and grows into adulthood.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy reading yet makes you think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very interesting tale of WW 11.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A deeply complex story of family ties, the connection of strangers, and one man's humanity. Jacob struggles with the plethora of human weakneses, strengths, fears, and hopes. An complicated story of life in WWE II, starting in Holland, traveling through Germany, France, Great Britain, South America, and ending at home. A fabulous read about the humanity in all of us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great story about a Dutch boy trying to figure out where he fit into this terrible war. I really enjoyed the depth of the character and the moral dilemmas he felt.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Boat Runner was beautifully written with rich descriptive passages. It is a story of tragedy, hope, and self-discovery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading this book feels like it's a real story...very good one too.