The Broken Spur

The Broken Spur

by Gary Harmon


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In The Broken Spur, author Gary Harmon weaves a fictional

tale of a way of life that evolved as it moved across the country.

It illustrates events which defined the life of generations of

Americans. His story is written in the same drawl that taints his

speech to this day, and why not? The narrative is colored by the

sounds and voices he grew up with. His family operated a large

stockyard in southern Indiana where the language of cowboys,

breeders, and trainers regaled the stories he loved to hear. His

early life was informed by the fact that he handled horses and

cattle daily and rode those skills right onto the pages of The

Broken Spur. Amid the tall tales and bald-faced lies contained

in these chapters is an honest picture of the hard realities of

life on the frontier.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781941929063
Publisher: Drinian Press
Publication date: 11/01/2017
Pages: 364
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

Gary Harmon is a veteran author of a number of articles on guns and hunting. He is also a playwright. The Broken Spur, however, has been his lifelong avocation, and chronicles a disappearing way of life.

Table of Contents

Part One: The Trail

1. Raiders at Murphy Flats 18882.

2. The Dodge City Stockyards 1888

3. Waiting for the Texan Summer/Fall 1888

4. The Amos Younger Bunch

5. Leaving Dodge

6. Ranger, Henry Brooker

7. Taking to the Trail

8. Herding Horses to Texas

9. Dishonor Among Thieves

10. The Silver Harp

11. The Primbles

12. Danger on the Trail

13. Massacre

Part Two: Old Robert

14. The Walk to the Sea

15. Fletcher Harris 1836

16. Bloody Evansville 1840

17. St. Lou, Big Muddy and the Hawken 1841

18. The Niagara, Erie and the Ohio 1838/1840

19. The Goose and the Crow 1843

20. Juan Garcia, Bandito

21. The Ride from Alamo

22. The Crow and Robert Trav

23. Garcia’s Run 1846

Part Three: The Big House 1888

24. The Prairie Mansion

25. Beaver’s Raid

26. Gunfight

27. Beaver’s Run

28 Justin Carstin and Pecos Bill

29. Lands of the Spur

30. The Big House

31. The Deadly Stowaway

32. Beaver’s Return

33. Pamela’s Letter

34. Colin’s Letter

35. The Broken Spur

About the Author

Customer Reviews