The Capitol Big Band Sessions

The Capitol Big Band Sessions

by Charlie BarnetCharlie Barnet


4 New & Used Starting at $2.46


Although Charlie Barnet will always be best known for his popular swing band of 1939-1942, he continued leading orchestras throughout the 1940s. In 1949 he temporarily embraced bebop, with his band being full of modernists (some of which were Stan Kenton's sidemen, since Kenton was taking a year off). At one point his trumpet section had three screamers (Maynard Ferguson, Doc Severinsen, and Ray Wetzel) in addition to the fine bop soloist Rolf Ericson. Other musicians who played with Barnet in 1949 included pianist Claude Williamson, bassist Eddie Safransky, altoist Vinny Dean, Dick Hafer on tenor, and trombonist Herbie Harper, with some of the arrangements provided by Manny Albam, Gil Fuller, and Pete Rugolo. This CD has all of Barnet's bop recordings, plus a version of "Redskin Rhumba" from mid-1948 and a dance band date with a different orchestra in 1950. Among the highlights are "Cu-Ba," "Charlie's Other Aunt," "Overtime," "Portrait of Edward Kennedy Ellington," "Bebop Spoken Here" (featuring singing from Dave Lambert and Buddy Stewart), "Claude Reigns," and "Really." Particularly highly recommended to bop fans who would never have associated Charlie Barnet with that style.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/25/1998
Label: Blue Note Records
UPC: 0724382125822
catalogNumber: 21258

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Charlie Barnet   Primary Artist,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Maynard Ferguson   Trumpet,Valve Trombone
Herbie Harper   Trombone
Bill Holman   Tenor Saxophone
Bud Shank   Tenor Saxophone
Dave Burns   Trumpet
Dave Lambert   Vocals
Claude Williamson   Piano
Trudy Richards   Vocals
Paul Nero   Strings
Eddie Safranski   Bass
Manny Albam   Baritone Saxophone
Danny Bank   Baritone Saxophone
Harry Betts   Trombone
Kurt Bloom   Tenor Saxophone
Bunny Briggs   Vocals
Bob Burgess   Trombone
John Coppola   Trumpet
Vinnie Dean   Alto Saxophone
Donn Trenner   Piano
Rolf Ericson   Trumpet
Dick Hafer   Tenor Saxophone
Allan Harshman   Strings
John Howell   Trumpet
Tiny Kahn   Drums
Cliff Leeman   Drums
Ruben Leon   Alto Saxophone
John Markham   Drums
Dick Meldonian   Alto Saxophone
Dave Nichols   Trumpet
Frank Pappalardo   Alto Saxophone
Lou Raderman   Strings
Doc Severinsen   Trumpet
Dick Shanahan   Drums
Iggy Shevak   Bass
Buddy Stewart   Vocals
Carlos Vidal   Conga,Vocals
Phil Washburn   Trombone
Dave Wells   Trombone
Ray Wetzel   Trumpet
Edward Mihelich   Bass
Bill Spears   Strings
Werner Callies   Strings
Karl de Karske   Trombone
Jack Hansen   Trumpet
Dick Kenney   Trombone
Obie Massingill   Trombone
Bob Dawes   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Lammar Wright   Trumpet
Lamar Wright   Trumpet
Carlton McBeath   Trumpet
Irv Lewis   Trumpet
DelSimone   Trumpet
Art Raboy   Alto Saxophone
Kenny Martlock   Trombone
Fern Caron   Trumpet
Charles Clarke   Strings
David Matthews   Tenor Saxophone
Diego Ibarra   Bongos
Francisco Alvarez   Bongos
Tony DiNardi   Trumpet
Alan Curtis   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Charlie Barnet   Composer
Gil Fuller   Arranger
Bill Holman   Contributor
Loren Schoenberg   Liner Notes
Andy Gibson   Arranger
Pete Rugolo   Arranger
Claude Williamson   Contributor
Johnny Richards   Arranger
Eddie Safranski   Contributor
Manny Albam   Arranger
Danny Bank   Contributor
Michael Cuscuna   Reissue Producer
Rolf Ericson   Contributor
Dennis Farnon   Arranger
Tiny Kahn   Arranger
Carlos Vidal   Contributor
Paul Villepigue   Arranger
Milton DeLugg   Composer
Matty Malneck   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews