The Caution Horses

The Caution Horses

by Cowboy JunkiesCowboy Junkies

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Canadian Import)

$46.88 $46.99 Save 0% Current price is $46.88, Original price is $46.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With the ethereal voice of Margo Timmins gleaning the lyrics "The phone rings, but I don't answer it/Good news always sleeps till noon" on the opener ("Sun Comes Up, It's Tuesday Morning"), listeners rest assured -- the Junkies haven't compromised their comfortable, country-twanged, folk-rock style to cater more to the trends of the masses. Mellow, honest, and provocatively reticent at points, their melancholic tone might seem bland to those with more aggressive tastes, or to simply more mainstream palettes, but for those whose tastes float serenely upstream, and for Junkies fans in general, this album is a treat. As usual, brother and lead guitarist Michael Timmins has created narratives that make poetry of everyday observations and anecdotes. Not as rocking as later releases, but offering more originals than earlier ones, this, their third full-length, brings back the mandolin and fiddle playing of Jeff Bird, the accordion stylings of Jaro Czerwinec, and pedal & lap steel guitar from Kim Deschamps -- all of which gracefully complemented the Trinity Sessions recordings. Their arrangements seem simply planned, and it's the combination of such a consistently minimalist quality with Michael Timmins' delicate songwriting that evokes ghost-story moods ("Witches") and sunset-beyond-the-porch-swing moments. Aside from the Neil Young cover "Powderfinger," The Caution Horses marks the Junkies' gradual shift toward more original work, and stands as the calm before the more rocking, commercially successful storm of material that followed. Highlights include "'Cause Cheap Is How I Feel," "Rock and Bird," and "Escape Is Simple."

Product Details

Release Date: 09/28/2018
Label: Imports
UPC: 0078635205817
catalogNumber: 5205817
Rank: 36664


Disc 1

  1. Sun Comes Up, It's Tuesday Morning
  2. 'Cause Cheap Is How I Feel
  3. Thirty Summers
  4. Mariner's Song
  5. Powderfinger

Disc 2

  1. Rock and Bird
  2. Witches
  3. Where Are You Tonight?
  4. Escape Is So Simple
  5. You Will Be Loved Again

Album Credits

Customer Reviews