The Collection: Oh, Mercy/Time Out of Mind/Love and Theft

The Collection: Oh, Mercy/Time Out of Mind/Love and Theft

by Bob DylanBob Dylan


3 New & Used Starting at $9.99


The assemblage in one box of Oh Mercy/Time Out of Mind/Love and Theft is part of Sony's "collection" series. It's difficult to know who the targeted audience is. Certainly, hardcore fans have these albums already, and it's difficult to know why newbies would choose these three instead of the earlier "classic" offerings. But the music business is a curious animal and follows its own instincts -- or those of its competitors. The high quality rating here is for the music on these discs, not the packaging, which is simply dreadful. Dylan's Oh Mercy, released in 1987, was his first great record since Slow Train Coming, and his last until Time Out of Mind. Both sets were produced by Daniel Lanois. Love and Theft was released in 2001 and garnered nearly universal acclaim. All of the albums here are remastered versions.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/13/2004
Label: Sony
UPC: 0827969264522
catalogNumber: 92645

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bob Dylan   Primary Artist,Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Electric Guitar,Vocals,12-string Guitar
Mason Ruffner   Guitar
Duke Robillard   Drums
Charlie Sexton   Guitar
Augie Meyers   Organ,Accordion,Hammond Organ,Vox Organ,Hammond B3
Jim Keltner   Drums
Bucky Baxter   Acoustic Guitar
Brian Blade   Drums
Malcolm Burn   Keyboards,Tambourine,Mercy Keys
Larry Campbell   Banjo,Guitar,Mandolin,Violin
Cindy Cashdollar   Slide Guitar
James Luther Dickinson   Organ,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Pump Organ,Wurlitzer
Tony Garnier   Bass,Electric Bass,Bass Guitar,Upright Bass
Darryl Johnson   Percussion
David Kemper   Drums
Daniel Lanois   Dobro,Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Omnichord,Lap Steel Guitar,Mando-Guitar
Cyril Neville   Percussion
Alton Rubin   scrubboard
Winston Watson   Drums
Brian Stoltz   Guitar
Tony Mangurian   Percussion
Willie Green   Drums
Larry Jolivet   Bass
Paul Synegal   Guitar
John Hart   Saxophone
Clay Meyers   Bongos
Tony Hall   Bass,Bass Guitar
Rockin Dopsie   Accordion

Technical Credits

Bob Dylan   Composer
Malcolm Burn   Engineer
Daniel Lanois   Producer,Audio Production
Trotsky   Artwork
Geoff Gans   Art Direction
David Gahr   Cover Photo
Mark Burdett   Type Design
Chris Shaw   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews