The Color Purple [New Broadway Cast Recording]

The Color Purple [New Broadway Cast Recording]

by Jennifer HudsonJennifer Hudson


$18.45 $18.99 Save 3% Current price is $18.45, Original price is $18.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Directed by Tony Award winner John Doyle, the cast is led by Grammy, Academy Award, and Golden Globe award winner JENNIFER HUDSON, London breakout star CYNTHIA ERIVO, and Orange is the New Black's DANIELLE BROOKS.

They are joined by Isaiah Johnson in the role of 'Mister;' Joaquina Kalukango as 'Nettie;' and Kyle Scatliffe takes on the role of 'Harpo,' along with Phoenix Best, Dwayne Clark, Lawrence Clayton, Carrie Compere, Patrice Covington, Adrianna Hicks, Bre Jackson, Grasan Kingsberry, Kevyn Morrow, Ken Robinson, Antoine L. Smith, Carle R. Stewart, Akron Watson, and Rema Webb.

Based on Alice Walker's Pulitzer Prize winning novel and the Warner Bros. / Amblin Entertainment motion picture, THE COLOR PURPLE is adapted for the stage by Pulitzer Prize and Tony award winner Marsha Norman, with music and lyrics by Grammy award winners Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray.

THE COLOR PURPLE is an unforgettable story of enduring love and triumph over adversity. With a fresh, joyous score of jazz, ragtime, gospel and blues, this stirring family chronicle follows the inspirational Celie, as she journeys from childhood through joy and despair, anguish and hope to discover the power of love and life.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2016
Label: Broadway Records
UPC: 0888295375276
catalogNumber: 3916
Rank: 23423

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jennifer Hudson   Primary Artist,Vocals,cast
Kevin Morrow   cast
Rema Webb   cast
Lawrence Clayton   cast
Grasan Kingsberry   cast
Dwayne Clark   cast
Color Purple Cast Ensemble   Choir, Chorus
Jason Michael Webb   Conductor
Antoine Smith   cast
Isaiah Johnson   Vocals,cast
Patrice Covington   cast
Cynthia Erivo   Vocals,cast
Carla Stewart   cast
Akron Watson   cast
Color Purple Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Kyle Scatliffe   Vocals,cast
Joaquina Kalukango   Vocals,cast
Danielle Brooks   Vocals,cast
Carrie Compere   cast
Bre Jackson   cast

Technical Credits

Brenda Russell   Composer
Stephen Bray   Composer,Producer
John Doyle   Direction
Frank Filipetti   Producer
Joseph Joubert   Orchestration
Scott Sanders   Producer
Allee Willis   Composer
Marsha Norman   Liner Notes,Book
Alice Walker   Author
Catherine Jayes   Orchestration
Jason Michael Webb   Music Direction
Van Dean   Producer
Joan Raffe   Producer
Jhett Tolentino   Producer
Roy Furman   Producer
Justin Huff   Casting

Customer Reviews