The Confessions of Doctor Dream and Other Stories [Remastered] [Bonus Tracks]

The Confessions of Doctor Dream and Other Stories [Remastered] [Bonus Tracks]

by Kevin AyersKevin Ayers


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Kevin Ayers' fifth album, The Confessions of Doctor Dream and Other Stories, is typical of his work. He sings in his distinctive deep voice with his cultured English accent (sounding a lot like John Cale) in songs set in a variety of pop styles, from hard rock to a kind of music hall approach. He is frequently playful and engaging, although his songs don't ultimately add up to much. The album's second side contains an 18-minute suite called "The Confessions of Doctor Dream," featuring a cameo by Nico, which exemplifies Ayers' amiable if unfocused appeal. [EMI France's 2009 remastered edition included bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/10/2009
Label: Emi France
UPC: 5099926829524
catalogNumber: 268295
Rank: 83104

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kevin Ayers   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Foot Percussion
Nico   Vocals
Mike Oldfield   Electric Guitar
Lol Coxhill   Saxophone
Rupert Hine   Organ,Synthesizer,Percussion,Electric Piano,Clavinet
Sam Mitchell   Electric Guitar
John G. Perry   Bass
Doris Troy   Background Vocals
Cal Batchelor   Electric Guitar
Ray Cooper   Percussion
Henry Crallan   Piano
Michael Giles   Drums
John Gustafson   Bass
Ollie Halsall   Electric Guitar,Soloist
Rosetta Hightower   Background Vocals
Hulloo Choir   Background Vocals
Sean Milligan   Background Vocals
Mike Moran   Piano
Steve Nye   Organ
Mike Ratledge   Organ
Mark Warner   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Joanne Williams   Background Vocals
Mike Giles   Drums
John Frederick Perry   Bass
Trevor Jones   Bass
G'Deevy Ensemble   Percussion
Trevor Jones   Bass
G'deevy Ensemble   Percussion
Henry Crallan   Piano

Technical Credits

Kevin Ayers   Composer
Rupert Hine   Producer
Simon Jeffes   Brass Arrangment
Steve Nye   Engineer
John Peel   Author
John Punter   Engineer
Pete Ritzema   Producer
Bill Aitken   Engineer
James Wedge   Illustrations
Mark Powell   Liner Notes
George Smith   Illustrations
James Wedge   Illustrations

Customer Reviews