The Coolest Songs in the World, Vol. 6

The Coolest Songs in the World, Vol. 6


$12.48 $12.99 Save 4% Current price is $12.48, Original price is $12.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Little Steven Van Zandt leads a charmed life -- plenty of record collector geeks who like garage rock make mix CDs to tip off their friends about their recent finds and enthusiasms, but Van Zandt has figured out a way to actually make money off such things, and he doesn't seem to be running out of enthusiasm as he released the sixth volume so far in his Coolest Songs in the World series. Van Zandt isn't afraid to get a bit idiosyncratic on these collections, which (of course) is a big part of their charm -- Vol. 6 leads off with Andrew Loog Oldham's theme tune for the British music show Ready Steady Go, around the midway point we're treated to a prime bit of vintage almost-psychedelic girl group vocalizing from the Cake, and the disc closes with something new from the Pretty Things (which sounds remarkably like something old from the Pretty Things). While the presence of the Stooges and the Go-Go's on this set is more than welcome, Van Zandt could have chosen better tunes than "Free and Freaky" and "La La Land," pulled from their respective comeback albums. The rest of the set thankfully ranges from good to excellent, with powerhouse tracks from the Paybacks ("Stranger in the House,") the Nomads ("Ain't No King of Rock 'N' Roll"), the Wolfmen ("Needle in the Camel's Eye") and the Stabilisers ("Belinda") rounding out the latter category. Van Zandt has a good ear for a great single (or would-be single), and while garage rock fans will dig just about everything here, he isn't afraid to mix up the formula and add some extra flavors to keep things interesting, which is why the Coolest Songs in the World series remains a great value for folks who dig their rock aged just a touch and with an extra serving of fuzz.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/19/2008
Label: Wicked Cool Record
UPC: 0856385001169
catalogNumber: 500116
Rank: 121126

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Belinda Carlisle   Vocals
Iggy Pop   Vocals
Plas Johnson   Horn,Woodwind
John McLaughlin   Guitar
Charlie Watts   Drums
Mike Post   Guitar
Mike Deasy   Guitar
Phil May   Vocals
Bill Wyman   Bass
Jane Wiedlin   Rhythm Guitar
Mike Leander   Piano
Charles Wright   Guitar
Ron Asheton   Guitar
Scott Asheton   Drums
Arnold Belnick   Strings
John Boudreaux   Drums
Bobby Bruce   Strings
Charlotte Caffey   Guitar
David Cohen   Guitar
Leroy Cooper   Horn
Mickey Davis   Guitar,Vocals
Joel Ellis   Drums
Gene Estes   Percussion
Richard Frost   Drums
Jessie Hill   Percussion
Carol Kaye   Guitar
Leonard Malarsky   Strings
Marco Pirroni   Guitar
Melvin Moore   Horn
Barbara Morillo   Vocals
John Neufeld   Woodwind
Andrew Loog Oldham   Vocals
Donald Peake   Guitar
Michel Rubini   Harpsichord
David Sherr   Woodwind
Gina Schock   Drums
John Simmons   Guitar
Darrel Terwilliger   Strings
Kathy Valentine   Bass
Wally Allen Waller   Bass,Vocals
Jim Walters   Vocals
Mike Watt   Bass
Ike Williams   Horn
Skip Alan   Percussion,Drums
Dr. John   Organ,Guitar
Dave Dixon   Percussion
James R. Horn   Horn,Woodwind
Emil Briano   Strings
Brendan Benson   Background Vocals
William Hafer   Drums
Mark St. John   Drums,Vocals
John Szymanski   Bass
Alan Crockford   Guitar,Background Vocals
Elliot Dicks   Drums,Tambourine,Shaker
Melvin Brown   Guitar
Frank Holland   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
John Ewing   Horn
Dick Taylor   Banjo,Guitar
Hans Ostlund   Guitar
Nick Vahlberg   Guitar,Vocals
Bjorne Froberg   Bass,Background Vocals
Leslie Milton   Conga,Drums
Mans P. Mansson   Guitar,Vocals
Jonas Lundberg   Percussion,Drums
Wendy Case   Guitar,Vocals
Gary Clarke   Organ,Rhythm Guitar
Jon Keliehor   Percussion
Jon Jon Fries   Drums
Matthew Reetz   Guitar
Michael Ziemann   Bass
Nicholas Ziemann   Guitar
Danny Methric   Guitar,Background Vocals
Kyle Krone   Guitar,Vocals
Alex Kweskin   Organ,Piano
Chris Huges   Drums
Tomas Holm   Bass
Jens Lagergren   farfisa organ
Jon Bott   Bass Guitar,Vocals
Francis Braithwaite   Drums
Simon Corbey   Rhythm Guitar
Michael Patrick Walker   Drums,Background Vocals
Chelsea Lee   Vocals
Lonnie Bolden   Horn
Joakim Ericson   Drums
Glen Lee Flynn   Guitar
Jeanette Jacob-Wood   Vocals
Chris Wuff   Bass,Guitar
Chris Constantinou   Bass Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Phil Manzanera   Composer
Iggy Pop   Composer
Jack Nitzsche   Composer
Mike Leander   Composer
Steve Albini   Producer,Engineer
Ron Asheton   Composer
Scott Asheton   Composer
Harold Battiste   Arranger
Jackie DeShannon   Composer
Brian Eno   Composer
Charles Greene   Producer
Chris Hughes   Producer
Paul Q. Kolderie   Producer
Andrew Loog Oldham   Composer,Producer
Sean Slade   Producer
Brian Stone   Producer
Mike Mariconda   Producer
Mark St. John   Producer
Greg Fidelman   Producer
Maggots   Composer
Wendy Case   Composer
Guy Benny   Producer
Kyle Krone   Composer
Alex Kweskin   Composer
Dave Cobb   Producer
Jesse Laz   Personnel
Sam Bair   Personnel
Little Steven   Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Simon Corbey   Composer
Louis Arzonico   Artwork
Chips K.   Producer
Jorge Explosion   Producer
Jordan Laz   Personnel

Customer Reviews