The Da Vinci Code

The Da Vinci Code

by Hans ZimmerHans Zimmer




The popularity of Dan Brown's bestselling novel is bound to make the film version of The Da Vinci Code into an instant box-office hit, but let's make sure to give due credit to the composer, Hans Zimmer. One of Hollywood's favorite blockbuster collaborators of recent years -- especially since the success of Gladiator in 2000 -- Zimmer's orchestral (and often choral) score weaves back and forth between the convincingly medieval and the dramatically modern. He has a full supply of ominous sonic tricks up his sleeve, which he uses to sustain the musical suspense over the full course of this soundtrack album, but he manages to skirt the usual cinematic clichés: There's some creepy choral chanting, but it's not the typical plagiarism from Carmina Burana. More characteristic are the eerie reverb treatment on the solo soprano in "Poisoned Chalice" and the minimalism of "The Paschal Spiral," which seems to borrow from the spiritual style of contemporary composer Arvo Pärt. The melodic bells that open "The Citrine Cross" provide another memorable effect, and well-informed listeners should also notice a quotation of the ancient Dies irae chant on that track. In contrast, "Daniel's 9th Chapter" unfolds with an expressively subdued theme, providing a lengthy, lyrical respite at the album's center. The Da Vinci Code isn't one of those action-packed soundtracks that tells a movie's whole story through the music alone; rather, it's more thoughtful and thought-provoking, and a thoroughly successful essay in the atmosphere of mysticism and mystery.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/09/2006
Label: Decca
UPC: 0602498540411
catalogNumber: 000647902

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hans Zimmer   Primary Artist
Nicholas Bucknail   Clarinet
Jonathan Snowden   Flute
Gary Kettel   Percussion
Frank Ricotti   Percussion
Paul Clarvis   Percussion
Hila Plitmann   Soprano
Hugh Marsh   Violin
Tom Bowes   Violin
Julie Andrews   Bassoon
Anthony Pleeth   Cello
Martin Tillman   Cello
Richard Harvey   Conductor
Richard Watkins   Horn
Gavyn Wright   Leader
David Theodore   Oboe
Peter Lale   Viola
Delores Clay   Vocals
Mary Scully   Double Bass
Mel Wesson   Ambience
Michael Price   Readings
Skaila Kanga   Harp
Nick Glennie-Smith   Choir Conductor

Technical Credits

Graham Preskett   Arranger
Hans Zimmer   Arranger,Producer
Henry Jackman   Arranger
Lorne Balfe   Arranger
Brian Grazer   Executive Producer
Ron Howard   Executive Producer
John Calley   Executive Producer
Abhay Manusmare   Text
Geoff Foster   Engineering
Becky Bentham   Score Coordinator
Jennie O'Grady   Choir Contractor
Nick Glennie-Smith   Arranger
Steven Kofsky   Production Service
Robert King   Choir Contractor

Customer Reviews