The Darkest Time of Night

The Darkest Time of Night

by Jeremy Finley

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$8.99 $9.99 Save 10% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Overview

Investigative journalist for WSMV-TV in Nashville, Jeremy Finley's debut thriller explores what happens to people’s lives when our world intersects with the unexplainable.

"The lights took him."

When the seven-year-old grandson of U.S. Senator vanishes in the woods behind his home, the only witness is his older brother who whispers, “The lights took him,” and then never speaks again.

As the FBI and National Guard launch a massive search, the boys' grandmother Lynn Roseworth fears only she knows the truth. But coming forward would ruin her family and her husband’s political career.

In the late 1960s, before she became the quiet wife of a politician, Lynn was a secretary in the astronomy department at the University of Illinois. It was there where she began taking mysterious messages for one of the professors; messages from people desperate to find their missing loved ones who vanished into beams of light.

Determined to find her beloved grandson and expose the truth, she must return to the work she once abandoned to unravel the existence of a place long forgotten by the world. It is there, buried deep beneath the bitter snow and the absent memories of its inhabitants, where her grandson may finally be found.

But there are forces that wish to silence her. And Lynn will find how far they will go to stop her, and how the truth about her own forgotten childhood could reveal the greatest mystery of all time.

The Darkest Time of Night is a fast-paced debut full of suspense and government cover-ups, perfect for thriller and supernatural fans alike.

June 2018 SIBA Okra Selection

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250214317
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 05/28/2019
Series: Lynn Roseworth Series , #1
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 134,584
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 7.40(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

JEREMY FINLEY is the chief investigative reporter for WSMV-TV, the NBC-affiliated station in Nashville. Jeremy Finley’s investigative reporting has resulted in some of the highest honors in journalism, including more than a dozen Emmys, Edward R. Murrow awards and a national certificate from Investigative Reporters and Editors. He lives with his wife and daughters in Nashville, TN. The Darkest Time of Night is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Darkest Time of Night 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
The_Brown_Bookloft 3 months ago
Summary: As a young child, Lynn Roseworth was repeatedly warned by her father to never go into the woods. The one time she went in there, she saw something terrifying. Now in her 70’s, she lives with her senator husband in her childhood home. Her eldest daughter lives next door with her husband and sons. Lynn instilled the fear of the woods into her own children, but her grandsons are less cautious. One day the youngest wanders into the woods and vanishes. When she was in her 20’s, Lynn worked for an astronomy professor who studied disappearances. He was sure that people who vanished were taken by extraterrestrials. Lynn became very involved with his work until something happened to make her break off all contact with him. Now she seeks his help in finding her grandson. But her past association with the professor could potentially put her marriage and her husband’s career in jeopardy. Comments: I found The Darkest Time of Night while perusing the shelves at the library. The book really zips along and I read it almost in a single sitting. I confess to having a love of books about alien contacts and civilizations. This book takes the basic theme of alien kidnapping and probing and turns it into a fine thriller. It was actually nice to read a thriller that didn’t involve a woman doing something stupid, being mentally unbalanced or being threatened by a man. Lynn Roseworth and her friend, Roxy are kick-ass senior citizens. I love it! Recommended for readers of Thrillers and Soft Sci-Fi.
bookladygran More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book - just what I wanted in a Couldn't Put It Down novel. Suspense, some interesting Cynicism, Wry Humor (love the character of Roxy), and that Just Maybe It's Plausible question - at least for some of it. Find out for yourself - read it.
nhr3bookcrazyNR More than 1 year ago
Out of this world? How could the vanishing of her 7 year grandson possible be part of his grandmother's past work at the University of Illinois 40 years ago? This is an intriquing story that hd me turning the pages as quickly as I could. And I loved the way the author tied up all aspects of the story at the end and ... possibly indicate another book in the future?! I really enjoyed this book. I found it different and original. I particularly liked Roxie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having met Jeremy years ago during an interview I was anxious to read his book. Once I started reading, I could not stop, thus reading the entire book in one day. Well done Jeremy, I like the setting in Nashville, the suspense as you turn another page. Can't wait for your next one.