The Dean Hughes Collection: Soldier Boys; Search and Destroy; Missing in Action

The Dean Hughes Collection: Soldier Boys; Search and Destroy; Missing in Action

by Dean Hughes

Paperback(Boxed Set)



Three tense, action-packed, and thought-provoking war stories from acclaimed author Dean Hughes are together for the first time in a collectible boxed set.

In Soldier Boys, Spencer Morgan and Dieter Hedrick are on opposite sides of World War II and fighting for the same thing.

Search and Destroy finds Rick Ward enlisting with the Charlie Rangers special unit in Vietnam. He wanted to go to war—but this war is far bigger, scarier, and more complicated than anything he ever could have imagined.

And in Missing in Action, Jay Thacker works hard to convince everyone, and maybe even himself, that his dad—who is missing in action as he fights in World War II—is really a POW and military hero, and not gone forever.

These three stand-alone stories take a searing look at war and its consequences, examining what it means to be a hero, what it means to be a friend, and what it means to be a man.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781481439978
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 10/20/2015
Edition description: Boxed Set
Pages: 752
Product dimensions: 8.40(w) x 5.60(h) x 2.00(d)
Age Range: 12 - 18 Years

About the Author

Dean Hughes is the author of more than eighty books for young readers, including the popular sports series Angel Park All-Stars, the Scrappers series, the Nutty series, the widely acclaimed companion novels Family Pose and Team Picture, Search and Destroy, and Four-Four-Two. His novel Soldier Boys was selected for the 2001 New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age list. Dean Hughes and his wife, Kathleen, have three children and nine grandchildren. They live in Midway, Utah.

Customer Reviews