The Definitive Collection [1997]

The Definitive Collection [1997]

by The Alan Parsons ProjectThe Alan Parsons Project


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Alan Parsons applied the same sense of vision gained during his impressive production and engineering career to his self-named solo group. Though the accessible melodies and lush arrangements of the Alan Parsons Project made it a perfect match for pop radio, the band was also progressive, conceptual, and highly sophisticated. His early work, inspired by science fiction and progressive rock, favored synth-heavy instrumentals. At the turn of the '80s, Parsons was leaning toward a more pop-friendly sound (as evidenced by the hits "Time" and "Eye in the Sky," both of which are included here), yet this material sacrifices none of his high-minded aesthetic. As an overview of Parsons' career, and as a primer for anyone interested in the art rock of the period, this is indispensable. [Originally released as a double-disc set, The Definitive Collection was also made available in a single-disc distillation.] ~ Anthony Tognazzini

Product Details

Release Date: 09/15/1997
Label: Arista Europe
UPC: 0743215174622
catalogNumber: 151746
Rank: 19428

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alan Parsons Project   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Allan Clarke   Vocals
Colin Blunstone   Vocals
Lesley Duncan   Vocals
Elmer Gantry   Vocals
John Miles   Vocals
Chris Rainbow   Vocals
Chris Thompson   Vocals
Lenny Zakatek   Vocals
David Paton   Bass,Vocals
Ian Bairnson   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar
Geoff Barradale   Vocals
Laser Beam   Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Mel Collins   Saxophone
Richard Cottle   Synthesizer,Bass,Saxophone
David Cripp   Horn
Stuart Elliott   Percussion,Drums
Dean Ford   Vocals
Jack Harris   Vocals
John Heley   Cello
Bob Howes   Conductor,Choir Master
David Townsend   Vocals
Christopher Warren-Green   Leader
Leonard Whiting   Vocals
Eric Woolfson   Piano,Keyboards,Vocals
Jacqueline Copeland   Background Vocals
Alan Parsons   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Background Vocals,fairlight

Technical Credits

David Cripp   Contributor
Tony Richards   Engineer
Eric Woolfson   Composer,Executive Producer
Edgar Allan Poe   Composer
Alan Parsons   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Rita Karidis   Art Direction
Denny Somach   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews