The Definitive Thelonious Monk on Prestige and Riverside

The Definitive Thelonious Monk on Prestige and Riverside

by Thelonious MonkThelonious Monk


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Definitive Thelonious Monk on Prestige and Riverside contains previously released tracks taken from the pianist's and composer's stint with the labels from 1952 to 1960. The 21 tracks, aimed at the casual listener, include the Monk penned classics " 'Round Midnight," "Straight, No Chaser," "Ruby, My Dear," "Bemsha Swing," and "Well, You Needn't." Appearing on these various dates are an extraordinary roster of musicians including Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Coleman Hawkins, Sonny Rollins and Charlie Rouse. Although it's far from a perfect retrospective of his career, this set would make a fine companion to The Essential Thelonious Monk spotlighting the years 1947-1952 on Blue Note and The Essential Thelonious Monk on Columbia 1962-1968. Keep in mind that all the original albums remain in print as well.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/24/2010
Label: Fantasy
UPC: 0888072323247
catalogNumber: 32324
Rank: 96811

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thelonious Monk   Primary Artist,Piano,Celeste,Soloist
Pepper Adams   Baritone Saxophone
Eddie Bert   Trombone
Miles Davis   Trumpet,Leader
Joe Gordon   Trumpet
Johnny Griffin   Tenor Saxophone
Gigi Gryce   Alto Saxophone
Ernie Henry   Alto Saxophone
Billy Higgins   Drums
Milt Jackson   Vibes
Sam Jones   Bass
Thad Jones   Cornet
Harold Land   Tenor Saxophone
Gerry Mulligan   Leader,Baritone Saxophone
Oscar Pettiford   Bass
Max Roach   Drums
Sonny Rollins   Leader,Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
Art Taylor   Drums
Wilbur Ware   Bass
Tommy Potter   Bass
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone
Percy Heath   Bass
Ray Copeland   Trumpet
Ahmed Abdul-Malik   Bass
Art Blakey   Drums
Donald Byrd   Trumpet
Kenny Clarke   Drums
John Coltrane   Tenor Saxophone
Frank Foster   Tenor Saxophone
Roy Haynes   Drums
Jay McAllister   Tuba
Robert Northern   French Horn
John Ore   Bass
Curly Russell   Bass
Shadow Wilson   Drums
Phil Woods   Alto Saxophone
Gary Mapp   Bass

Technical Credits

Irving Mills   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Irving Caesar   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Ray Fowler   Engineer
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer
Reice Hamel   Engineer
Jack Higgins   Engineer
Orrin Keepnews   Producer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Juan Tizol   Composer
Abbey Anna   Art Direction
Ashley Kahn   Liner Notes
Rolf Ambor   Cover Photo
Hanighan   Composer

Customer Reviews