The Divergent Channels - Jing Bie: A Handbook for Clinical Practice and Five Shen Nei Dan Inner Meditation

The Divergent Channels - Jing Bie: A Handbook for Clinical Practice and Five Shen Nei Dan Inner Meditation

by David Twicken


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Rooted in the Su Wen and Ling Shu, Dr. Twicken's book integrates Chinese and Taoist medical philosophy, theories, and principles to clearly demonstrate that the Divergent Channels are an essential aspect of the clinical practice of acupuncture. He takes a step-by-step approach to assist practitioners in 'working out' the channels, and shows how this versatile channel system can be used in any acupuncture treatment. Twicken also includes instruction on Five Shen Nei Dan inner meditation to help practitioners gain a more profound emotional and spiritual understanding. With case studies and reference to the classic texts throughout, this book provides a complete resource that will help clinicians understand and use the Divergent Channels in clinical practice.

An accessible and comprehensive account of the Divergent Channel system, this book will be a valuable addition to the shelves of students and practitioners of acupuncture and Chinese medicine; taiji and qigong practitioners; and anyone with an interest in Taoist practice.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781848191891
Publisher: Kingsley, Jessica Publishers
Publication date: 07/21/2014
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 6.90(w) x 9.90(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

David Twicken, DOM, L.Ac., is a licensed practitioner and professor of Chinese medicine. He teaches Qi Gong, Tai Chi Chuan, Nei Dan, feng shui and Chinese astrology. He has studied Chinese healing arts for 30 years and is the author of 'I Ching Acupuncture – The Balance Method' and 'Eight Extraordinary Channels – Qi Jing Ba Mai', also published by Singing Dragon. He resides in Los Angeles, California.

Table of Contents

Author Note. Chinese Dynasties. Introduction. 1. The Divergent Channels Pathways. 2. Working It Out. 3. Divergent Channels Sequencing Theories. 4. The Divergent Channels. 5. Working it Out: The Major and the Connecting Channels. 6. Working It Out: Cycles of Time. 7. Working It Out: The Five Shen. 8. Working It Out: The Nine Needles. 9, Working it Out: Guiding Theories and Principles. 10. Clinical Applications. 11. Introduction to Nei Dan Inner Meditation. 12. The Cauldron. 13. The Small Heavenly Orbit. 14. Five Shen Nei Dan Inner Meditation. Conclusion. Tables. End Notes. Bibliography. Index.

Customer Reviews