The Dream Synopsis EP

The Dream Synopsis EP

by The Last Shadow PuppetsThe Last Shadow Puppets


$12.23 $13.99 Save 13% Current price is $12.23, Original price is $13.99. You Save 13%.


Following on the heels of their 2015 full-length album Everything You've Come to Expect, the Last Shadow Puppets released the shorter if no less compelling The Dream Synopsis EP. As with their previous efforts, Dream Synopsis is an evocative, orchestral-tinged production featuring arrangements from longtime collaborator Owen Pallett. Here, the Last Shadow Puppets duo of Arctic Monkeys vocalist Alex Turner and vocalist/guitarist Miles Kane deliver two re-recorded versions of songs off Everything You've Come to Expect ("Aviation" and "The Dream Synopsis") as well as a handful of well-curated cover songs. In keeping with the Last Shadow Puppets' love for vintage '60s-inspired productions, Dream Synopsis has a live-in-the-studio sound, as if they recorded each song live in one take. They've even gone so far as to leave some of the band's pre-song banter, as well as various bits of the engineer's comments. Of the newly recorded originals, "Aviation" sounds especially good with the live treatment, benefiting from the cavernous studio atmosphere. Similarly compelling are the group's literate, cheeky rendition of Leonard Cohen's dramatic "Is This What You Wanted" and the frenetic, wild-eyed take on the Fall's "Totally Wired." In fact, the covers here are so confidently performed and arranged that they sound close to definitive. They also fit nicely into the band's longstanding penchant for adding wryly delivered covers to concert set lists. Ultimately, any of the tracks on The Dream Synopsis EP could have just as easily been included on Everything You've Come to Expect. That said, the EP works quite well as a swaggering coda to that recording, a kind of final summation of the full-length album's arty, hedonistic theatricality.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/09/2016
Label: Domino
UPC: 0887829079925
catalogNumber: 90799

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Last Shadow Puppets   Primary Artist
Claudia Chopek   Performing Ensemble
Jenny Takamatsu   Performing Ensemble
Caroline Buckman   Performing Ensemble
Alex Turner   Group Member
Miles Kane   Group Member
Tyler Parkford   Group Member
Zachary Dawes   Group Member
Loren Humphrey   Group Member
Scott Gillies   Acoustic Guitar
Mikala Schmitz   Performing Ensemble
Jordan Pettay   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Leonard Cohen   Composer
Roger Chapman   Composer
Mark E. Smith   Composer
Jacques Dutronc   Composer
Owen Pallett   Orchestral Arrangements
Alex Turner   Composer
Jacques Lanzmann   Composer
Miles Kane   Composer
Mark Riley   Composer
Stephen Hanley   Composer
Craig Scanlan   Composer
Patrick Higgins   Engineer

Customer Reviews