The Dub Room Special!

The Dub Room Special!

by Frank ZappaFrank Zappa




This no-frills made-for-home-video release, by multimedia artist Frank Zappa, contains just over 90 minutes of vintage performances gleaned from a host of film projects, interviews and concert footage. The live music centers on the 1974 incarnation of the Mothers of Invention's in-studio KCET-TV appearance, August 27, 1974 in Los Angeles and the Halloween (October 31) 1981 show at the Palladium in New York City. The '74 band included Zappa (guitar/vocals) supported by George Duke (keyboards/vocals), Ruth Underwood (vibes/marimba/percussion), Chester Thompson (drums), Tom Fowler (bass) and Napoleon Murphy Brock (vocals/tenor sax/duck call); while the '82 configuration featured Steve Vai (guitar), Tommy Mars (keyboards), Ed Mann (percussion), Ray White (rhythm guitar/vocals), Scott Thunes (bass), Bobby Martin (keyboards/sax/harmonica/vocals) and Chad Wackerman (drums). The latter lineup was particularly notable for the fiery on-stage exchanges between Zappa and Vai (guitar) -- such as the ones heard on the incendiary "Stevie's Spanking." Dub Room Special (1982) gets its name from the actual dub room -- which Zappa compares to a closet -- where the various elements are being compiled into a finished product. The artist provides running commentaries, occasionally (and perhaps unwittingly) incorporating hangers-on and employees of Compact Video -- the facility that Zappa is renting out. Among the musical numbers from the '74 outfit are the theme to "Uncle Meat" which is in a medley preceded by "Dog Breath." They also act out the infamous "Room Service" exchange, dance and sing the heretofore instrumental "Approximate" and play exemplary renditions of "Cosmik Debris," "Montana," "Florentine Pogen" -- with road manager Marty Perellis as Chester's Gorilla -- "Stink-Foot" and "Inca Roads." From '81 are the tunes "Nig Biz," "Cocaine Decisions," "Stevie's Spanking," "Flakes" and "Easy Meat." Undoubtedly, in a continued effort to help allay costs, the tape was packaged in a sturdy standard plastic box with only an equally generic white label indicating what is inside. Indeed, no-frills has never looked or sounded this good before.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/16/2008
Label: Zappa Records
UPC: 0824302000625
catalogNumber: 20006

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Frank Zappa   Primary Artist,Guitar,Percussion,Vocals,Track Performer,Musician
Steve Vai   Musician
George Duke   Keyboards,Vocals,Musician
Ed Mann   Percussion
Chester Thompson   Drums
Chad Wackerman   Drums,Musician
Tom Fowler   Bass,Musician
Napoleon Murphy Brock   Saxophone,Vocals,Musician
Tommy Mars   Keyboards,Musician
Scott Thunes   Bass,Musician
Ruth Underwood   Percussion,Musician
Ray White   Guitar,Vocals,Musician
Bobby Martin   Keyboards,Saxophone,Vocals

Technical Credits

Dweezil Zappa   Sequencers
Bob Stone   Engineer
Frank Zappa   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production
John Frusciante   Liner Notes
Kerry McNabb   Engineer
Joe Travers   Vault Research
Ahmet Zappa   Contributor
Gail Zappa   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews