The Edge of the Water (Edge of Nowhere Series #2)

The Edge of the Water (Edge of Nowhere Series #2)

by Elizabeth George

Hardcover

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Sequel to the Edgar-nominated The Edge of Nowhere, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth George

A mysterious girl who won’t speak; a coal black seal named Nera that returns to the same place every year; a bitter feud of unknown origin—strange things are happening on Whidbey Island, and Becca King, is drawn into the maelstrom of events. But Becca has her own secrets to hide. Still on the run from her criminal stepfather,  Becca is living in a secret location. Even Derric, the Ugandan orphan with whom Becca shares a close, romantic relationship, can’t be allowed to know her whereabouts. As secrets of past and present are revealed, Becca becomes aware of her growing paranormal powers,  and events build to a shocking climax anticipated by no one.

Acclaimed author Elizabeth George brings her extraordinary talents to this intriguing story that blends mystery and myth.


"A ripping good thriller." —School Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780670012978
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 03/11/2014
Series: Edge of Nowhere Series , #2
Pages: 448
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Elizabeth George is the author of the bestselling crime novels about Inspector Thomas Lynley, as well as The Edge of Nowhere, her first young adult novel, which was a finalist for both the Edgar and the Agatha awards.   Ms. George’s novels are notable for their incisive characterization and their complex, multi-layered plots.

Elizabeth George lives on Whidbey Island, where both The Edge of Nowhere and The Edge of the Water are set.  She says, “Whidbey Island asks to be ‘someone’ in a story. I only hope I’ve done it justice.” Two more coming-of-age novels in the Whidbey Island sequence will follow.

Visit her at www.elizabethgeorgeonline.com

Hometown:

Seattle, Washington

Date of Birth:

February 26, 1949

Place of Birth:

Warren, Ohio

Education:

A.A. Foothill Community College, 1969; B.A. University of California, Riverside, 1970; M.S. California State University

Read an Excerpt

     In the other boat, Annie Taylor suddenly put her hand on Chad Pederson’s arm. She said, “Chad, look,” and they all followed her gaze. The seal had actually come between the two boats, putting herself so close that any one of them could have touched her.
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "The Edge of the Water"
by .
Copyright © 2015 Elizabeth George.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for The Edge of the Water:

“So many questions and secrets swirl around Whidbey Island…This is the second installment in what appears to be a series but one need not have read the first book to be engrossed...a riveting story and since many questions remain unanswered, readers will be eager for the next installment.” —VOYA

“When it comes to this series, with scenes that draw you into a remarkable world, it’s easy to state that readers will remember Whidbey for decades to come. George has scored an ‘A+’ again. With discoveries being made and new characters arriving on the scene, waiting for book number three is going to take an incredible amount of patience. Bravo!” —Suspense Magazine

"A ripping good thriller" —School Library Journal

Praise for The Edge of Nowhere:

“George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." —School Library Journal

“...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin.” —BCCB

Customer Reviews