The Essential Album

The Essential Album

by Nina Simone



The Essential Album, a three-disc box from the budget label Golden Stars, is nothing of the sort. Including one disc of studio performances and two discs of live material, the set admittedly includes many valuable recordings, including Philips-era studio classics like "My Baby Just Cares for Me," "I Loves You, Porgy," "Don't Let Me Be Understood," and "Four Women." These tracks, however, are available in countless editions, most of them superior to this set because they include liner notes and recording data to lend context to the intricacies of Nina Simone's discography.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/09/2003
Label: Golden Stars Holland
UPC: 8712177044979
catalogNumber: 5355

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nina Simone   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Richie Havens   Composer
Nina Simone   Composer
Langston Hughes   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Jake Holmes   Composer
Weldon Irvine   Composer
Jimmy Webb   Composer
Galt MacDermot   Composer
Bennie Benjamin   Composer
Barney Bigard   Composer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Henry Creamer   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Bob Gaudio   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Arthur Hamilton   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Turner Layton   Composer
Leroy Kirkland   Composer
George Stone   Composer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
James Rado   Composer
Gerome Ragni   Composer
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Willard Robison   Composer
Sol Marcus   Composer
Jessie Mae Robinson   Composer
Sidney Wyche   Composer
George Bass   Composer
Gloria Caldwell   Composer
Eunice Waymon   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews