The Essential Luther Vandross [Limited Edition 3.0]

The Essential Luther Vandross [Limited Edition 3.0]

by Luther VandrossLuther Vandross
1 New & Used Starting at $9.97


The 1989 release The Best of Luther Vandross captures Vandross at the peak of his powers, chronicling the '80s, when he reigned as the premier soul crooner of his time. That remains the definitive portrait of Vandross at his creative pinnacle, but 2003's The Essential Luther Vandross extends its reach much further, stopping when Vandross left Epic in 1996. So, it becomes a summary of his time at the label, and it's a thorough one; it may not be sequenced chronologically, but it hits all the big songs, throwing in some obscurities like "She's So Good to Me" from the Goonies soundtrack. If The Best of Luther Vandross has a bit of an edge, it's because of the consistency of the material; by concentrating on a particular era, it leaves out a lot of pleasantly pedestrian duets that kind of bog this collection down a little bit. Still, that's a minor point -- as is the complaint that this is not sequenced chronologically -- because this serves up 30 of Vandross' finest in a nice double-disc package. Most listeners will be plenty satisfied with this fine collection. [Epic/Legacy issued a Limited Edition 3.0 version in 2008, that included a bonus third CD.]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/26/2008
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886973458020
catalogNumber: 734580

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Luther Vandross   Primary Artist,Vocals
Patti Austin   Vocals
Cheryl Lynn   Vocals
David Lasley   Vocals
Phil Perry   Vocals
Ava Cherry   Vocals
Robin Clark   Vocals
Darlene Love   Vocals
Lisa Fischer   Vocals
Tawatha Agee   Vocals
Phillip Ballou   Vocals
Tinker Barfield   Bass,Musician
Bashiri Johnson   Percussion,Musician
Errol Crusher Bennett   Percussion,Musician
Johnny Britt   Vocals
Cissy Houston   Vocals
Michelle Cobbs   Vocals
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion,Conga,Wind Chimes,Musician
Charlotte Crossley   Vocals
Lynn Davis   Vocals
Jim Gilstrap   Vocals
Ivan Hampden   drum overdubs,Musician
Doc Powell   Guitar,Musician
Yogi Horton   Drums,Musician
Phillip Ingram   Vocals
Paul Jackson   Guitar,Musician
Anthony Jackson   Bass,Bass Guitar,Musician
Brenda White-King   Vocals
Steve Kroon   Bongos,Conga,Musician
Paulette McWilliams   Vocals
Jason Miles   Musician
Marcus Miller   Synthesizer,Bass,Bass Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Musician
Cindy Mizelle   Vocals
Myrna Smith-Schilling   Vocals
Sybil Thomas   Vocals
Fonzi Thornton   Vocals
Ed Walsh   Synthesizer
Buddy Williams   Drums,Musician
Alfa Anderson   Vocals
Genobia Jeter   Vocals
Nat Adderley   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Musician
Pat Joyner   Vocals
Tamira C. Sanders   Vocals
Georg "Jojje" Wadenius   Guitar,Musician

Technical Credits

Marvin Gaye   Composer
Lionel Richie   Composer
Luther Vandross   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Ray Bardani   Producer,Engineer
Michael Brauer   Engineer
Dana Jon Chappelle   Engineer
Marcus Miller   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Joseph M. Palmaccio   Producer
Leon Pendarvis   Arranger
Paul Riser   Arranger
Leo Sacks   Producer
Walter Afanasieff   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Howard Fritzson   Art Direction
Nat Adderley   Arranger,Producer,Audio Production
Linda Chang   Packaging Manager

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews