The Essential Luther Vandross

The Essential Luther Vandross

by Luther VandrossLuther Vandross


$13.53 $13.99 Save 3% Current price is $13.53, Original price is $13.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 21
4 New & Used Starting at $13.31


The 1989 release The Best of Luther Vandross captures Vandross at the peak of his powers, chronicling the '80s, when he reigned as the premier soul crooner of his time. That remains the definitive portrait of Vandross at his creative pinnacle, but 2003's The Essential Luther Vandross extends its reach much further, stopping when Vandross left Epic in 1996. So, it becomes a summary of his time at the label, and it's a thorough one; it may not be sequenced chronologically, but it hits all the big songs, throwing in some obscurities like "She's So Good to Me" from the Goonies soundtrack. If The Best of Luther Vandross has a bit of an edge, it's because of the consistency of the material; by concentrating on a particular era, it leaves out a lot of pleasantly pedestrian duets that kind of bog this collection down a little bit. Still, that's a minor point -- as is the complaint that this is not sequenced chronologically -- because this serves up 30 of Vandross' finest in a nice double-disc package. Most listeners will be plenty satisfied with this fine collection. [A 35-track two-CD set was released in 2015.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/16/2015
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0888750704726
catalogNumber: 507047
Rank: 18372


Disc 1

  1. Love It, Love It
  2. The Glow of Love
  3. Searching
  4. Never Too Much
  5. A House Is Not a Home
  6. Don't You Know That?
  7. If This World Were Mine
  8. Bad Boy/Having a Party
  9. How Many Times Can We Say Goodbye
  10. Superstar
  11. It's Over Now
  12. Wait for Love
  13. If Only for One Night
  14. Creepin'
  15. Anyone Who Had a Heart
  16. Give Me the Reason
  17. There's Nothing Better Than Love
  18. So Amazing

Disc 2

  1. Stop to Love
  2. Bridge Over Troubled Waters [From the Television Program "Cinemax Sessi
  3. Any Love
  4. Here And Now
  5. Look to the Rainbow
  6. Power of Love/Love Power
  7. Don't Want to Be a Fool
  8. The Best Things in Life Are Free
  9. Little Miracles (Happen Every Day)
  10. Endless Love
  11. Your Secret Love
  12. Are You Using Me?
  13. Take You Out
  14. I'd Rather
  15. Dance with My Father
  16. The Closer I Get to You
  17. Shine

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews