The Essential Phil Spector

The Essential Phil Spector

by Phil SpectorPhil Spector


$16.91 $17.99 Save 6% Current price is $16.91, Original price is $17.99. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Producer Phil Spector's famed and innovative Wall of Sound recording techniques, which consisted of massed instruments, close-quarter ensemble recording, symphonic structure, and, above all, good songs (most of which Spector wrote or co-wrote) sung by vital artists, influenced, in one way or another, every pop producer who followed him. This two-disc set collects Spector's most essential and enduring productions, including classics like the Crystals' "Da Doo Ron Ron," the Ronettes' marvelous "Be My Baby," the emotionally epic "You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling" by the Righteous Brothers, and the majestic "River Deep, Mountain High" by Ike & Tina Turner, among others, making this indeed the essential Phil Spector. The cornerstones are all here.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/2011
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886978642226
catalogNumber: 786422
Rank: 13748

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Phil Spector   Primary Artist
Halos   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Carole King   Composer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Harry Nilsson   Composer
Gene Pitney   Composer
Ellie Greenwich   Composer
Gerry Goffin   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer,Producer
Barry Mann   Composer
Jack Nitzsche   Arranger
Gene Page   Arranger
Robert Maxwell   Composer
Phil Spector   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Curtis Lee   Composer
Peter Andreoli   Composer
Stan Applebaum   Arranger
Jeff Barry   Composer
Perry Botkin   Arranger,Composer
Tommy Boyce   Composer
Arnold Goland   Arranger
Bones Howe   Engineer
Hank Levine   Arranger
Irwin Levine   Composer
Larry Levine   Engineer
Bill MacMeeken   Engineer
Robert Mersey   Arranger
Alex North   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Phil Ramone   Engineer
Stan Ross   Engineer
Carl Sigman   Composer
Mike Stoller   Producer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
J. Mayo Williams   Composer
Toni Wine   Composer
Allie Wrubel   Composer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Ralph Valentin   Engineer
Gil Garfield   Composer
Ray Gilbert   Composer
Brice Coefield   Composer
Gary Pipkin   Composer
Domenic Priore   Liner Notes
Leroy Bates   Composer
Tony Powers   Composer
Larry Kolber   Composer
Jeff Gilligan   Art Direction
Vince Poncia   Composer
Vincent Poncia   Composer
Alan Lorder   Arranger
Bo Chapman   Composer
Alanzo Willis   Composer

Customer Reviews