The Evil Empire of Everything

The Evil Empire of Everything

by Public EnemyPublic Enemy


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Arriving just a few months after Most of My Heroes Still Don't Appear on No Stamp, Public Enemy's The Evil Empire of Everything is a decidedly different album than their other 2012 album. It's leaner and harder, stripped down to its hard, unbreakable basics, Public Enemy honing their politics and music so Evil Empire of Everything has a precise, steely glint. There is no hiding Chuck D's anger at the tragic shooting of Trayvon Martin, not when the album opens with 911 calls where black teenagers are held under suspicion for the color of their skin, and not when there's a centerpiece called "Beyond Trayvon," but for as hard as these songs hit, what's striking about Evil Empire of Everything is its music. Despite some prominent guests -- Ziggy Marley shows up on "Don't Give Up the Fight" and Tom Morello ladles guitar over "Riotstarted" -- Public Enemy make clear, conscious connections between their music and classic '60s soul, most notably on the slow-burning "Everything" (featuring vocals by Gerald Albright and Sheila Brody), where Chuck D's testifying sounds straight from the roster of Stax, but also on the hard funk of "Notice" or the blaring horns of "Say It Like It Really Is." This is how a hip-hop group reaches middle age: by placing themselves as part of a tradition, never lingering in the past but never desperately riding trends.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2012
Label: Eastlink
UPC: 0858023002453
catalogNumber: 3
Rank: 77687

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Public Enemy   Primary Artist
Professor Griff   Group Member
Chuck D   Group Member
Davy DMX   Bass,scratching
Flavor Flav   Group Member
Gary G-Wiz   Saxophone
Tom Morello   Guitar
Clyde Stubblefield   Drums
Charles Shaw   Musician
Brian Hardgroove   Bass
Kyle Jason   Vocals
DJ Lord   scratching,Group Member
Impossebulls   Vocals
Sekreto   Vocals
Tommy T.   Beat Box
C Doc   Synthesizer
DJ Johnny Juice   scratching
Khari Wynn   Guitar
Kyle "Ice" Jason   Vocals
True Mathematics as Sgt. Hawke the ERO Commando   Vocals
T-Bone Motta   Drums
Njeri Pauling   Vocals
Michael "NYC" Mike Faulkner   Drums
Marcus J.   Vocals
James Amir Muhammad AKA James Bomb   Spoken Word
DJ C-Double   scratching

Technical Credits

Professor Griff   Producer
Chuck D   Liner Notes
Davy DMX   Producer
Flavor Flav   Producer
Gary G-Wiz   Producer,Executive Producer,Remixing
Ziggy Marley   Composer
Carl Ryder   Executive Producer
Clyde Stubblefield   Composer
Johnny Juice Rosado   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Sam Sever   Producer
Z-Trip   Producer
William Drayton   Executive Producer
Ross Sloan   Vocal Arrangements
Chuck Madness   Producer
Adam Wallenta   Illustrations
Clint "Mister Payback" Sands   Producer
C Doc   Arranger,Producer,Remixing,drum programming
Felony Music   Producer,Engineer
Pop Diesel S1W   Contributor
Amani K. Smith   Engineer
Freddy Fox   Producer
K. Houston   Composer
Brent Dixon   Producer
James Bomb   Producer,Contributor
Triniti Coclough   Vocal Producer,Vocal Recording
DJ Pain 1   Producer
Shamello Durant   Vocal Arrangements
Samuel H. Kim   Composer
Sammy Kim   Producer
Joe City   Composer
Janol "Mecca" Holmes   Composer
Chris "Spanky" Moss   Producer
Brother Mike   Contributor

Customer Reviews