The Five Civilized Tribes: Indian Territory

The Five Civilized Tribes: Indian Territory

by Charles Hall Fitch


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21


With the exception of a small area in the northeastern corner, belonging to several small tribes of Indians, Indian Territory comprises the lands of the Cherokees, Creeks, Seminoles, Choctaws and Chickasaws, five tribes, known as the Five Civilized Tribes, and to these tribes, just on the eve of important changes in their tribal governments, consideration is here given. Their lands were deeded to them upwards of seventy years ago, when the need of more room for the settlers in the South made their removal from the Southern States desirable. Then the country adjoining Arkansas on the west seemed a good place to send them, and at that time it was considered so remote from white settlements that, in all probability, no thought was given to the possibility of disturbing them again.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781976428821
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 04/21/1900
Pages: 30
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.06(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews