The Gate Keeper (Inspector Ian Rutledge Series #20)

The Gate Keeper (Inspector Ian Rutledge Series #20)

by Charles Todd


$7.00 $26.99 Save 74% Current price is $7, Original price is $26.99. You Save 74%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2


On a deserted road, late at night, Scotland Yard’s Ian Rutledge encounters a frightened woman standing over a body, launching an inquiry that leads him into the lair of a stealthy killer and the dangerous recesses of his own memories in this twentieth installment of the acclaimed New York Times bestselling series.

Hours after his sister’s wedding, a restless Ian Rutledge drives aimlessly, haunted by the past, and narrowly misses a motorcar stopped in the middle of a desolate road. Standing beside the vehicle is a woman with blood on her hands and a dead man at her feet.

She swears she didn’t kill Stephen Wentworth. A stranger stepped out in front of their motorcar, and without warning, fired a single shot before vanishing into the night. But there is no trace of him. And the shaken woman insists it all happened so quickly, she never saw the man’s face.

Although he is a witness after the fact, Rutledge persuades the Yard to give him the inquiry, since he’s on the scene. But is he seeking justice—or fleeing painful memories in London?

Wentworth was well-liked, yet his bitter family paint a malevolent portrait, calling him a murderer. But who did Wentworth kill? Is his death retribution? Or has his companion lied? Wolf Pit, his village, has a notorious history: in Medieval times, the last wolf in England was killed there. When a second suspicious death occurs, the evidence suggests that a dangerous predator is on the loose, and that death is closer than Rutledge knows.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780594873341
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/06/2018
Series: Inspector Ian Rutledge Series , #20
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 92,285
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Charles Todd is the New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge mysteries, the Bess Crawford mysteries, and two stand-alone novels. A mother-and-son writing team, they live on the East Coast.

Customer Reviews

The Gate Keeper 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved all of Charles Todd’s books. They capture the essence of small English Village life and the horror or the First World War with all it’s ramifications for those who fought in it. They are a joy to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the Rutledge series!! I recommend this latest novel as Rutledge continues to exhibit superb skills as a detective. Looking forward to more stories written by this truly talented mother/son team!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read
Anonymous 4 months ago
I really can not say anything good about this book. Slow moving, filled with irrelevant information.
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
Ian Rutledge series by Charles Todd provides more entertainment than the Bess Crawford series and The Gatekeeper gave hours of enjoyment. The final chapters gave me moments of unease as Rutledge acted out of character in his dealing with a husband and wife. The importance of the carved wolves and the phrase Gatekeeper are not revealed until the end of the novel, as well as the importance of an old book about apples. Many characters, especially some of the women, possess terrible personalities. The men show themselves as weak and easily controlled by these overbearing women. But a mother’s love for a child shows the reason for crime and hatred.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Each book I read, I like better than the last.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
Charles Todd, the mother-son writing team, offers two different series: The Gate Keeper is from the Inspector Ian Rutledge mystery series (the other is the Bess Crawford novels). Both series take place in a similar time frame, during or after World War I, and are based in England (or France, of course, in the trenches). Rutledge served as a Captain and saw bloody action and was responsible for the execution of his Corporal, Hamish McCleod, who refused orders to lead his men into another futile charge over the top. Hamish still haunts Rutledge, and his memory serves as sort of assistant to the Inspector by offering observations and warnings when warranted. As a result of shell shock, Rutledge was, for a time, treated for his mental condition, but now serves as a Scotland Yard detective. Since his release from the hospital, he has been living in the family home with his sister, who is married at the start of this novel. Returning from the wedding, he is unable to sleep and decides to go for a drive, ending up far away from his London apartment, where he finds himself witness to a murder. He insists on taking over the investigation and when another murder occurs, it becomes more important to uncover the reason for each. Rutledge learns of a third murder far away that might be related to the two he is working on, but it is assigned to another Scotland Yard detective. The plot is fairly simple, but the solution is a lot more complicated and unexpected. Rutledge plods on until he finds a common thread to all three murders, then has to turn his attention to the question of who has actually performed the murders. And this he does with smoothness in this, the 20th novel in the series. On to the 21st. Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
and eagerly awaiting the next installment!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finished in two days. I love the Inspector Rutledge stories. The characters, plot, mystery are prrfect.