The Ghosts of the Eighth Attack

The Ghosts of the Eighth Attack

by David Beaty

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

From World War to World War, the spirit of comradeship never dies.

Autumn, 1940. The battered RAF 13 Squadron are stationed at Marshfield airfield, once home to the American 96th Squadron who lost their lives on the Hindenburg Line.

Jack Horner and Ginger Johnson are appalled when they are assigned to Peter Maddox, a notoriously inept pilot. Though they fear for their lives, Maddox, despite his total lack of skill, achieves brilliant coups against all the odds.

As the threat of invasion looms, strange things begin to happen. An unseen dog howling before doomed operations, and decommissioned biplanes supposedly guiding aircraft down in thick fog. It seemed as if 13 Squadron was linked with invisible forces, carrying them forward to their most dangerous mission of all.

A thrilling story of love, bravery and young men at war, perfect for fans of W. E. Johns, Max Hennessy and Alistair MacLean.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781788639927
Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 05/28/2020
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
File size: 406 KB

About the Author

David Beaty was a former RAF pilot and author whose books about flying earned him worldwide reputation. Born in Ceylon in 1919, Beaty was educated at Kingswood, Bath and Merton College, Oxford. He became an RAF pilot during WWII, where he excelled, but gave up a life in the Air Force to write full-time. He was on the staff of the College of Air Training and was an associate member of the British Airline Pilots’ Association.


David Beaty was a former RAF pilot, novelist and non-fiction writer whose books about flying earned him worldwide reputation.

Born in Ceylon in 1919, Beaty was educated at Kingswood, Bath and Merton College, Oxford. He became an RAF pilot during WWII, where he excelled, but gave up a life in the Air Force to write full-time. However, his experiences informed his many novels. In 1960, Cone of Silence was made into a film starring Peter Cushing and George Sanders. He was on the staff of the College of Air Training, was an associate member of the British Airline Pilots’ Association, and a Companion of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Customer Reviews