The Gil Evans Orchestra Plays the Music of Jimi Hendrix

The Gil Evans Orchestra Plays the Music of Jimi Hendrix

by Gil Evans OrchestraGil Evans Orchestra


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27
3 New & Used Starting at $5.90


This CD reissue (which adds additional material to the original LP program) is much more successful than one might have expected. Jimi Hendrix was scheduled to record with Gil Evans' Orchestra but died before the session could take place. A few years later, Evans explored ten of Hendrix's compositions with his unique 19-piece unit, an orchestra that included two French horns, the tuba of Howard Johnson, three guitars, two basses, two percussionists and such soloists as altoist David Sanborn, trumpeter Marvin "Hannibal" Peterson, Billy Harper on tenor, and guitarists Ryo Kawasaki and John Abercrombie. Evans' arrangements uplift many of Hendrix's more blues-oriented compositions and create a memorable set that is rock-oriented but retains the improvisation and personality of jazz. [This album was re-released in 2002 on the Bluebird label with four bonus tracks from the same sessions]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/01/2016
Label: Imports
UPC: 0889853084425
catalogNumber: 5074992
Rank: 53323


  1. Angel
  2. Crosstown Traffic
  3. Medley; Castles Made from Sand/Foxy Lady
  4. Up from the Skies
  5. 1983: A Merman I Should Turn to Be
  6. Voodoo Chile
  7. Gypsy Eyes
  8. Little Wing
  9. Angel
  10. Castles Made of Sand
  11. Up from the Skies
  12. Gypsy Eyes

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews