The Good Feeling

The Good Feeling

by Christian McBride Big BandChristian McBride Big Band


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


Bassist Christian McBride was already turning heads as a teenaged sideman with Benny Green during the early '90s, showcasing formidable technique and imagination in his solos. Over the two decades since then, McBride has demonstrated his skills as a bandleader, composer, and arranger as well. After 15 years of studying big-band charts, experimenting, and writing, McBride developed sufficient material for a CD, recruiting some of New York's best and busiest players, including saxophonists Steve Wilson, Ron Blake, and Loren Schoenberg, trumpeters Nicholas Payton and Frank Greene, and trombonists Steve Davis, Michael Dease, and Douglas Purviance, plus pianist Xavier Davis and drummer Ulysses Owens (among others). Six of the 11 pieces are originals, highlighted by the funky, playful "Bluesin' in Alphabet City," the ambitious, multifaceted "Science Fiction," and the upbeat, boisterous post-bop cooker "The Shade of the Cedar Tree." Vocalist Melissa Walker shines on several tracks, including a warm setting of "When I Fall in Love" that opens with the leader's arco solo and a pulsating rendition of Bobby Scott's "A Taste of Honey" that is scored with rich ensemble work behind the singer. The solos by McBride, Blake, Wilson, and Dease especially stand out, though everyone who takes a turn delivers a top-drawer effort. With this fine effort, it's safe to say that Christian McBride's talents as a writer have grown to match his considerable chops as a bassist.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2011
Label: Mack Avenue
UPC: 0673203105324
catalogNumber: 1053
Rank: 99437

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Christian McBride Big Band   Primary Artist
Loren Schoenberg   Tenor Saxophone
Steve Wilson   Flute,Alto Saxophone
James Burton   Trombone
Ron Blake   Flute,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Steve Davis   Trombone
Christian McBride   Bass,Conductor
Nicholas Payton   Trumpet
Douglas Purviance   Bass Trombone
Todd Williams   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Frank Greene   Trumpet
Melissa Walker   Vocals
Xavier Davis   Piano
Carl Maraghi   Bass Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone
Todd Bashore   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Freddie Hendrix   Trumpet
Michael Dease   Trombone
Nabate Isles   Trumpet
Ulysses Owens   Drums

Technical Credits

Sammy Cahn   Composer
Joe Ferla   Engineer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Christian McBride   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Teddy McRae   Composer
Pryor   Executive Vice President
Bobby Scott   Composer
Axel Stordahl   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Paul Weston & His Orchestra   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
Henri Woode   Composer
Maria Ehrenreich   Creative Producer,Creative Services Director
Ric Marlow   Composer
Raj Naik   Art Direction
Keith H. Brown   Illustrations
Tino Passante   Studio Manager
Bill Bird   Composer
Gretchen Valade   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews