The Gospel at Colonus [Original Cast]

The Gospel at Colonus [Original Cast]


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Playwright Lee Breuer and composer Bob Telson had an idea: Retell the story of Oedipus using a gospel choir and soloists as the storytellers. The result was The Gospel at Colonus, which had a very successful theatrical run and produced the extraordinarily beautiful song suite presented here. Telson made the inspired decision to allow much of the weight of the enterprise to be borne by the enormous talents of Clarence Fountain & the Five Blind Boys of Alabama and the J.D. Steele Singers, featuring the absolutely incredible voice of Jevetta Steele (who would have a bit of a hit with the title song from the film Calling You). Some of the songs are priceless: "Stop Do Not Go On," with its heartfelt vocal urgings from Sam Butler, is a showstopper of its own, but it's followed by "How Shall I See You Through My Tears," a devastating number with Steele singing in a voice possessed of positively unearthly beauty. Intriguingly, not only can Breuer's lyrics be read as either traditional gospel text or pertaining to the story of Oedipus, but they can also often be heard as love songs from the R&B tradition. There's not a weak song on the record. Telson, a one-time member of the Philip Glass Ensemble and an associate of numerous jazz musicians (Lenny Pickett and John Hagen are in the ensemble here, for instance), successfully sublimates these influences and manages to create a remarkably authentic pop-gospel hybrid by entrusting the interpretation of his pieces to the artists who deeply know the genre. When the entire cast converges for the penultimate "Lift Him Up," the effect is nothing short of electrifying. Highly recommended not only for fans of gospel music but also for anyone interested in the diverse directions of contemporary music in general.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/27/2018
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597919127
catalogNumber: 12426161
Rank: 31474

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Clarence Fountain   Vocals
Institutional Radio Choir   Vocals
Donald Fagen   Vocals
Little Village   Vocals
Bob Malach   Alto Saxophone
Jevetta Steele   Vocals
J.J. Farley   Vocals
Morgan Freeman   Vocals
Bob Telson   Synthesizer,Piano,Vocals
Donald Ballard   Vocals
Jearlyn Steele Battle   Vocals
Bobby Butler   Vocals
Sam Butler   Guitar,Vocals
J.T. Clinkscales   Vocals
Leroy Clouden   Drums
Betty Cooper   Vocals
Blind Boys of Alabama   Vocals
Vincent Haddock   Vocals
David Hewitt   Vocals
Carolyn Johnson-White   Vocals
Gary Katz   Vocals
Zev Katz   Bass
Daniel Lazerus   Vocals
Hugh McCracken   Harmonica,Slide Guitar
Lincoln Schleifer   Bass
Martin Jacox   Vocals
Mary Hunt   Vocals
Ben Odom   Vocals,Background Vocals
Deborah C. Brett   Vocals
Keith Doars   Vocals
Mary Fiser   Vocals
Angie Haddock   Vocals
Zack Kelly   Vocals
Isabell Monk   Vocals
Janet C. Napper   Vocals
Chris Royal   Trumpet
Ezekiel Tobby   Vocals
Willie Rogers   Vocals,Background Vocals
Joyce Taylor   Vocals
Monique Williams   Vocals
George Cooper   Vocals
Original Soul Stirrers   Vocals
Jackie Banks   Vocals,Background Vocals
Denise Martin   Vocals
Joe Watson   Vocals
Butch Heyward   Organ
Linda Wilkerson   Vocals
Joan Faye Wright   Vocals
Beverly Graham   Vocals
Walter Dixon   Vocals
Terrence Moore   Vocals
John Hagen   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Mark Johnson   Trombone

Technical Credits

Donald Fagen   Producer
Billy Funk   Composer
Bob Telson   Producer
David Hewitt   Engineer,Sound Design
Gary Katz   Producer
Daniel Lazerus   Producer,Engineer
J.D. Steele   Director
Sherman Warner   Executive Producer,Sound Design
Lee Breuer   Director
Michael David   Executive Producer
Doug Johnson   Artwork

Customer Reviews